Art & Art History

Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.

A database of biographical information.

Useful for finding information on the lives of the saints.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

Smarthistory at Khan Academy is the leading open educational resource for art history. It makes high-quality introductory art history content freely available to anyone, anywhere. Smarthistory is a platform for the discipline where art historians contribute in their areas of expertise and learners come from across the globe. It offers more than 600 videos and hundreds of articles.

The Getty vocabularies contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials.

CODART is an international network for curators of art from the Low Countries. This website is the best guide to Dutch and Flemish art in museums worldwide.

A biographical and methodological database intended as a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history.

The Art Discovery Group Catalogue (ADGC) offers an art-focused research experience within the OCLC WorldCat environment. Researchers may search within this specialized subset of Worldcat data to hone in on a vast trove of art-historical literature held in an ever-increasing number of the world’s finest art libraries. These art library records are searchable alongside additional content from a multitude of sources from thousands of commercial and freely-accessible collections, portals, and repositories.

Basic information about artists and artistic movements, with links to online image sources.

A subject-specific classification system. It is a hierarchically ordered collection of definitions of objects, people, events and abstract ideas that serve as the subject of an image. Art historians, researchers and curators use it to describe, classify and examine the subject of images represented in various media such as paintings, drawings and photographs.