Art & Art History

A massive collection of global art is at your fingertips, alongside curator-written art descriptions, art history essays, and academic references.

Search one of the greatest collections of 20th century art at MOMO in New York, and now some 21st century art as well.

Perhaps the greatest Australian art museum with really fine collection online in the area of Australian and Asian art.

The CCCA Canadian Art Database Project is a work in progress. With the overall objective of broadening public awareness of contemporary Canadian Art in Canada and abroad, the CCCA is documenting the careers of some of Canada's leading professional artists, designers, art writers and curators, as well as some important Canadian art institutions and organizations that have helped shape the Canadian art scene since the 1960s.

This is a representative selection of images from some of the most sumptuous manuscripts displayed in the Cambridge Illuminations exhibition (Fitzwilliam Museum, 26 July - 30 December 2005). Offering a foretaste of the exhibits, it presents an opportunity to browse through the thematic sections of the exhibition, to view the work of outstanding medieval and Renaissance artists, and to admire the commissions of the most discriminating patrons of learning and art.

Digitized medieval manuscripts held by the Foundation Lázaro Galdiano in Madrid.

The Free Library’s digital manuscript collection includes two different sorts of objects: complete manuscript books, or "codices," and separate leaves and cuttings—fragments separated from their original contexts. With the images you will find basic information about the object pictured: when and where it was made, and what its imagery depicts. When the image is from an intact book, the accompanying information will tell you about the book, and will also link to a complete description of it.

A steadily growing digital image sampler and browsing resource for the vast photography holdings of George Eastman House.

Paintings held by a private collector. Click on "Selección de obras" to view Italian, Spanish, and French paintings.

Search more than 850,000 images, video and sound files, and other resources from collections across the Smithsonian. Institutions represented include the Freer, the National Museum of African Art, the Archives of American Art, and many others.

Search the online image collection of the greatest of French museums, as well as some other French collections as well.

A searchable database of artworks and related materials from the permanent collection. Individual database record includes information about an object as well as images, when available. Not all artworks are available in the collection Database.

Named after Pierpont Morgan's yacht, CORSAIR is a single database providing unified access to over 250,000 records for medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, rare and reference books, literary and historical manuscripts, music scores, ancient seals and tablets, drawings, prints, and other art objects. About 95 percent of the Morgan's holdings are represented in the catalog. Records continue to be added for the balance of the collection as well as for new acquisitions.

Collections illustrating major achievements in painting, sculpture, and graphic arts from the Middle Ages to the present. Search the National Gallery of Art collections database for a specific artist or title. Don't miss the really good bibliographies that accompany many works as well.

Access online to approximately 1000 works of the Museum's collection (more than 5000 works available in spanish version). This data base will enlarge until it holds the complete collection. The Advanced Search engine facilitates consultation, using categories such as artist, title of work, subject, chronology and reference number.

Tate Modern is an art gallery in London, housing the United Kingdom's national collection of international modern and contemporary art (created from or after 1900)

Over 120,000 slides and digital images of architecture, urbanism, and the built environment in the Islamic world. Spans a 30-year period and documents historic and contemporary sites in the Islamic world, often depicting sites not found in any published resource.

As a pioneer in the field of Media Arts research, the Archive of Digital Art documents the rapidly evolving field of digital installation art. This complex, research-oriented overview of works at the intersection of art, science, and technology has been developed in cooperation with international media artists, researchers and institutions, as a collective project.

With video documentations, technical data, artist statements, academic texts, artistic inventions, discussions as well as bibliographical information, exhibitions and events, the Archive of Digital Art is among the most comprehensive resources in the field.

Text and image resources as well as comprehensive, academically relevant information dealing with all media from the Middle Ages up to the present.

Art and architecture image collections, mainly from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan, India, and Cambodia.

Google has partnered with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online. Here you can find artworks, landmarks and world heritage sites, as well as digital exhibitions that tell the stories behind the archives of cultural institutions across the globe.

A database of time-based or process-oriented works of art.

Use this resource to access primary and secondary sources on Greek and Roman art and archaeology.

An online archive of new media art with more than 2,500 works to date.

Search the British Library's catalog and digital collections.

An online resource of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research.

The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), currently containing over 35,100 reproductions. Includes artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, and period music.

The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.

Resources related to the built environment of the Muslim world. These archives, images, drawings, publications, seminar proceedings, articles, serials and project documentation comprise an unparalleled resource and research tool for the study of Islamic art and architecture. They bring together donated photo collections, journals published around the world, monographs and architect’s archives that are linked to sites, people, publications and other related materials.

A database containing documentation centering on the classical tradition, a focus of Renaissance studies. Connects antique monuments known in the Renaissance with the related Renaissance documents in form of texts and images.

Provides links to scanned images of original Dada-era publications in the International Dada Archive. These books, pamphlets, and periodicals are housed in the Special Collections Department of the University of Iowa Libraries and include many of the major periodicals of the Dada movement from Zurich, Berlin, Paris, and elsewhere, as well as books, exhibition catalogs, and broadsides by participants in the Dada movement.

27 Dutch love emblem books, religious as well as profane. Includes full transcriptions, page facsimiles and indexes, as well as extended search options.

The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.

With more than 30,000 engravings, the Graphic Art Collection of the Göttweig Abbey is one of the largest private collections of graphic art in Austria. The predominant part of the holdings stems from the Renaissance and Baroque era and includes works by German, Dutch, Italian, French and English masters.

Comprehensive visual documentation of four Mayan cities. Includes 19th and early 20th century drawings, prints, and photographs, showing the appearance of these four cities before the extensive restoration campaigns of the twentieth century. In addition, there are over 1000 recent photographs, showing previously unpublished architectural and sculptural details, interior spaces, paint remains, current restoration, and approaches to the public presentation of these heavily visited sites.

A selection of works from the Musée Picasso, Paris.

The New Museum Digital Archive provides researchers with free online access to primary source materials from New Museum exhibitions, public programs, and publications. Through this interface, users can explore approximately 7,500 written and visual records, as well as a searchable database of over 4,000 artists, curators, and organizations associated with the New Museum's programming. New materials are being processed, digitized, and added to the Digital Archive as they become available.

A collection of photographs of medieval art and architecture, assembled by the International Society for the Study of Pilgrimage Arts.

Piero della Francesca's fresco cycle--one of the most important monuments of Early Renaissance Italian painting--is presented here, on-line in a 3-D walk-through interactive model.

Profiles more than 1,200 sacred sites and religious places in 61 countries around the world, illustrated by over 25,000 photos.

Photographs and virtual tours of St. Peter's Basilica.

Provides students and scholars with access to all of Rossetti's pictorial and textual works and to a large contextual corpus of materials, most drawn from the period when Rossetti's work first appeared and established its reputation (approximately 1848-1920), but some stretching back to the 14th-century sources of his Italian translations. All documents are encoded for structured search and analysis. The Rossetti Archive aims to include high-quality digital images of every surviving documentary state of Rossetti's works: all the manuscripts, proofs, and original editions, as well as the drawings, paintings, and designs of various kinds, including his collaborative photographic and craft works. These primary materials are transacted with a substantial body of editorial commentary, notes, and glosses.

Universal Leonardo is a programme aimed at deepening our understanding of Leonardo da Vinci through a series of European exhibitions (2006), scientific research and web-based resources.

Works and exhibitions of contemporary art from around the world.

This is a catalogue raisonné of the etchings drypoints and mezzotints produced by James McNeill Whistler during his working career, between 1854 and his death in 1903. It is intended as a comprehensive guide to these works based on the works themselves, the copper plates, and documentary or published records.

Illuminated books, drawings, paintings, engravings, and more by William Blake.