Learning Outcomes for RCC Instruction
- Identify and navigate the library website in order to find a variety of trustworthy information sources.
- Recognize how to contact a librarian, tutor, or writing consultant in order to request assistance throughout the research and writing process.
- Select the appropriate library resources, space, or service in order to meet individual learning goals.
- Recognize different search strategies via the library or the open web in order to obtain relevant results.
- Distinguish between types of information sources (scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, books, multimedia, data, websites) in order to determine their respective authority and intent.
Local Links
- SWAG: Sexuality, Women's & Gender StudiesThe Sexuality, Women’s, and Gender Studies (SWAG) minor brings together research and activism, educating students to recognize social injustices and to create positive change in our local community and in the larger world.
- Sexual Misconduct & HarassmentRollins College is committed to creating and maintaining a safe, healthy, and respectful community in which students, faculty, and staff can work together in an atmosphere free of all gender, sex, and sexual orientation discrimination.
- Wellness Center Health ServicesAll currently enrolled Rollins students are eligible to receive health services at the Rollins Wellness Center.
- Lucy Cross Center for Women, Gender, & SexualityFounded in 2010 by dedicated staff, students, and faculty, “the Lucy” was created as a safe and welcoming space to form community, establish networks, and promote social justice.
Search Library Resources
- Gale's Gender Studies CollectionThis database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The PubMed database is a literature database that contains citation information (title, authors, journal, and publication date) and abstracts of articles published in biomedical and scientific journals. PubMed does not contain full-text articles, but in some cases, you can link to full text directly from PubMed.
- Roper Center iPoll This link opens in a new windowA large collection of poll data —1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to articles from leading journals in several fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Evaluate Sources
- The C.R.A.A.P. TestThe CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help
you evaluate the information you find based on currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose.
- Website Evaluation RubricUse the C.R.A.A.P. guidelines to evaluate websites using a rubric. Adapted from CSU Chico Library.
- Evaluating SourcesEvaluate potential sources using the C.R.A.A.P. test worksheet adapted from CSU Chico Library.
Librarian
Rene Tanner
she/her/hers