Finding Paranormal Books in a Library
Interested in researching the unexplained on your own? Here is how you can locate paranormal books in a library.
In Olin Library
The Olin Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) system for cataloging books. If you want to browse the collection, some call number ranges that are relevant to paranormal topics are:
- BF1001-1389: Parapsychology, found on the 1st floor
- BF1001-1045: Psychic research
- BF1161-1171: Telepathy and other mental powers
- BF1228-1389: Spiritualism
- BF1404-2055: Occult Sciences, found on the 1st floor
- BF144-1486: Ghosts and hauntings
- BF1501-1623: Magic, witchcraft, etc.
- BF1651-1891: Astrology, fortune telling, etc.
- BF2050-2055: Human-extraterrestrial contact.
- GR1-950: Folklore, found on the 1st floor
- QL1-355: Zoology (including cryptozoology), found on the 4th floor
In Public Libraries
Many public libraries use the Dewey Decimal System. Some relevant call numbers in that system are:
- 001: UFOs and aliens, cryptozoology
- 133: Ghosts, hauntings, and other occult and paranormal topics
- 398: Folklore, including vampires, werewolves, and other monsters
Books from Olin Library
Fearsome Creatures of Florida by
They're known as Storm Devils and Peat Fairies, Skunk Apes and Were-Panthers. They sinuate through ficus hedges and tunnel under beach towels. They lurk in the mangroves and springs. Some you can smell a mile away. Others you don't notice until they grab at your ankles. They're the wildly imaginative bestiary that populates John Henry Fleming's Fearsome Creatures of Florida. Fleming offers an eerie portrayal of the parallel lives of modern-day Floridians and the living landscape that surrounds them. Matched with haunting illustrations by David Hazouri, these tales may forever change your view of the Sunshine State. Voted one of Top Ten Cryptozoology Books of 2009,
ISBN: 9781929763405Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Florida's Ghostly Legends and Haunted Folklore by
Discover the haunts of northern Florida in this second volume in the series dedicated to uncovering the uncanny in the Sunshine State. Explore abandoned hospitals, ancient springs, and modern apartment complexes from Ocala to Jacksonville, from Lake City to Tallahassee. Encounter playful spirits and frightening specters and learn their tales of lost love and watery tombs, of lives cut tragically short and souls lingering through eternity. And unearth stories of darker phenomena that have yet to be explained. . . . Plus, take an exciting tour through ancient St. Augustine, America's oldest city--and perhaps its most haunted, too. See the ghosts of Spanish soldiers in a centuries-old fort; watch for the light of a spirited bootlegging widow on the roof of a quaint inn; and feel the presence of Henry Flagler (and his unhappy lovers) in the school that bears his name. Delve into the unknown with Greg Jenkins as he examines the history, legend, and paranormal rationale behind strange occurrences in many of north Florida's haunted locations. Get a fresh look at some of the state's most infamous specters and learn never-before-heard tales of the strange and the supernatural as you take a trip through Haunted Florida. The first volume of Florida's Ghostly Legends and Haunted Folklore, covering south and central Florida, is also available. < < Previous in series Next in series > > See all of the books in this series
ISBN: 1561643289Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Florida's Ghostly Legends and Haunted Folklore by
Haunting ancient cemeteries and primitive landmarks as well as modern apartment complexes and highway sides, ghosts and restless spirits abound. This volume of Florida's Ghostly Legends and Haunted Folklore offers a delightful--and somewhat spooky--look into the darker side of the south and central areas of the Sunshine State. Explore fortress ruins in New Smyrna Beach, and keep an eye out for mysterious shadows and dark figures in the nearby forest; visit the island of Islamorada, where the ghostly remains of Flagler's railway rumble over tracks destroyed in the 1935 Labor Day Hurricane; and, if you're especially brave, walk through the eerie corridors of the mausoleum in Myrtle Hill Cemetery near Tampa, where you are sure to hear whispers from the dead or the muffled echoes of a music box. Delve into the unknown with Greg Jenkins as he examines the history, legend, and paranormal rationale behind strange occurrences in many of south and central Florida's haunted locations. Get a fresh look at some of the state's most famous ghost stories and learn never-before-heard tales of the strange and the supernatural as you take a trip through Haunted Florida. The second volume of Florida's Ghostly Legends and Haunted Folklore, covering north Florida and St. Augustine, is also available. Next in series > > See all of the books in this series
ISBN: 1561643270Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Florida's Unexpected Wildlife by
In ""Florida's Unexpected Wildlife"", award-winning author Michael Newton describes exotic species recognized by state wildlife authorities; ""extinct"" species whose passing is disputed or disproved; various aquatic ""monsters"" said to occupy Florida's rivers, lakes, and offshore waters; alien big cats; and the search for the elusive, enigmatic Skunk Ape - a local relative of Bigfoot. Newton's tales are riveting, and include a six-foot tall emu encountered by a jogger in a subdivision and a ""sea serpent"" carcass discovered at the mouth of the St. Johns River. The stories are illustrated with photographs and the incomparable paintings of artist William Rebsamen, hailed as the ""John James Audubon of cryptozoology."" While ""monster hunters"" can use ""Florida's Unexpected Wildlife"" as a field guide, casual readers can simply enjoy the many fascinating tales and the wealth of evidence collected in this book. Grab your binoculars and enjoy the quest!
ISBN: 9780813031569Publication Date: 2007-09-30
Florida Ghost Stories by
Stories of ghosts and spirits and tall tales of strange happenings fill this volume. If they don't give you goose bumps and make your hair stand on end, at least they will offer you food for thought. There are two stories of Indian legends from Silver Springs, stories of hauntings in the little town of Micanopy, an encounter with a specter at Fort Clinch near Fernandina, the tale of a ghost in the Castillo in St. Augustine, the legend of the choir boy who sings from beneath a church swimming pool in Jacksonville, and many more. Enough to keep you up at night reading--if you dare!
ISBN: 9781561644117Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Haunted Florida by
Florida's sunny climate and tourist attractions draw plenty of visitors--some of whom never leave. This compilation of supernatural tales shows Florida to be a state rife with eerie occurrences and ghostly denizens. Stories include the spirit of Uncle Charlie at Fernandina Beach's Palace Saloon, the infamous Chupacabras of south Florida, a count's strange obsession with his dead wife, and the mysterious Skunk Ape of Collier County.
ISBN: 9780811734981Publication Date: 2008-06-18
Haunt Hunter's Guide to Florida by
With its extensive and often turbulent history, Florida is a fitting home to some restless spirits. Author Joyce Moore has traveled around the state and gathered stories about strange happenings and ghostly presences. Not only historic homes, but also theatres, parks, and cultural centers are the focus of some hauntings. You will find each sites history and character; its "haunt history," which includes interviews with owners and caretakers; and nearby attractions and facilities for those brave enough to explore these supernatural occurrences more closely.
ISBN: 9781561641505Publication Date: 1998-03-01
Haunting Sunshine by
Spectral visions, footsteps in the attic, thumps in the night. Who hasn't witnessed or heard such things and not thought of ghosts? Join your guide, author Jack Powell, on a wild ride from Pensacola to Jacksonville and down to Key West, touring Florida's places and history through some of its best ghost stories. Powell has woven together a creepy collection of tales. Explore the darker side of the Sunshine State. What horrible fate awalted the pirates lover in Pensacola? Care to check out the last crop Edgar Watson planted on his farm in the Everglades? When will the ghost leave baby Carlys room?
ISBN: 1561642207Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Orlando Ghosts by
Orlando, Florida, has more to offer than theme parks and vacation spots--there are ghosts aplenty! Meet an actress-turned-professor at Rollins College, still giving her students advice from beyond the grave. Take a stroll through Leu Gardens with a few of the ghostly residents that will not leave, and dare to walk around Rouse Road Cemetery to face the vengeful spirit of Benjamin Miles. Orbs and goosebumps await you in Oviedo with the strange green balls of ghost light that hover and sometimes chase those brave enough to go looking for them, known only as the Oviedo Lights. Be it folklore or fact, Orlando is waiting to disclose all its haunted secrets to you.
ISBN: 9780764331855Publication Date: 2008-12-31
Strange Florida by ISBN: 1877633399Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Weird Florida by
Florida is renowned for sun, surf, sand and senior citizens, and is a favourite holiday destination for more than a million Brits each year. But, it is also one of the best places to chart your weirdest travel destinations. This addition to the Weird US series features information about the Sunshine State.
ISBN: 0760759456Publication Date: 2005-04-07
Encyclopedia of the Undead by
This reference presents vampire lore and legends from around the world, with coverage of the historical, literary, mythological, biographical and popular aspects of the vampire figure. It gives an alphabetical list of definitions of terms, descriptions of places and biographies of vampires (fictional and allegedly real), along with the actors who have portrayed them and the authors who created them. There are also descriptions of vampire appearances in different cultures and other topics, such as sexuality) associated with vampires. Many of the illustrations in the text are taken from the files of the Vampire Studies Society.
ISBN: 9781578590711Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends by
This exhaustive and compellingly readable reference work offers alphabetical entries on every aspect of the subject, including descriptions of hundreds of individual legends and their variations, legend themes, and scholarly approaches to the genre. Other entries discuss the relationship of urban legends to literature, film, comic books, music, and many other areas of popular culture. Coverage includes academic legends, earthquake stories, Internet resources, tabloids in urban legends, and more. All entries are cross referenced and feature brief bibliographies. A general bibliography suggests further readings on the subject. The volume is richly illustrated and is based on the latest scholarship, including materials available on the Internet. * A-Z entries provide a summary of each legend and its background * An introduction defines "urban legend" and sketches the history of urban legend studies * The book is richly illustrated with artwork by Randy Hickman * Brief bibliographies follow each entry, and a selected bibliography provides suggestions for further reading and research
ISBN: 9781576070765Publication Date: 2001-06-04
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales [3 Volumes] by
Folk and fairy tales exist in all cultures and are at the heart of civilization. This massive Encyclopedia gives students and general readers a broad, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries written by numerous expert contributors. Entries cover themes and motifs, individuals, characters and character types, national traditions, genres, and a range of other topics. Each entry cites works for further reading, and the Encyclopedia closes with a bibliography of print and electronic resources. Literature students will welcome this book as an aid to understanding and analyzing folk and fairy tales as literary forms, while social studies students will appreciate it as an exploration of the essence of world cultures. Folk and fairy tales exist in all cultures and are at the heart of civilization. The most comprehensive work of its kind, this massive Encyclopedia gives students and general readers a broad, accessible, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world. Edited by one of the foremost authorities on the subject, the Encyclopedia draws on the work of numerous expert contributors and covers a broad range of themes and motifs, characters and character types, genres, individuals, national traditions, and other topics. Entry topics were chosen in consultation with a nine-member Advisory Board that includes some of the most prominent scholars currently pursuing the study of folk and fairy tales, such as Professor Jack Zipes of the University of Minnesota, whose work has revolutionized research on fairy tales. Entries cite works for further reading, and the Encyclopedia closes with a bibliography of print and electronic resources. Literature students will value this book as an aid to understanding and analyzing folk and fairy tales as literary forms, while social studies students will appreciate the book's examination of the foundations of world cultures. And because many of these tales continue to influence films, television, and popular culture, general readers will welcome the Encyclopedia as a means of understanding the modern world. * Covers folk and fairy tales from around the world. * Includes hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries by numerous expert contributors. * Cites print and electronic resources. * Includes entries on genres, themes and motifs, characters and character types, individuals, national traditions, and other topics. * Discusses the presence of folk and fairy tales in literature and popular culture. * Extensively cross-referenced. * Fully illustrated. * Helps literature students analyze and undestand folk and fairy tales as literary forms. * Helps social studies students understand folk and fairy tales as the foundation of cultures around the world. * Fosters a respect for cultural diversity.
ISBN: 9780313334412Publication Date: 2007-12-30
Paranormal America (second Edition) by
The untold account of the countless Americans who believe in, or personally experience, paranormal phenomena such as ghosts, Bigfoot, UFOs and psychics Given the popularity of television shows such as Finding Bigfoot, Ghost Hunters, Supernatural, and American Horror Story, there seems to be an insatiable public hunger for mystical happenings. But who believes in the paranormal? Based on extensive research and their own unique personal experiences, Christopher Bader, Joseph Baker and Carson Mencken reveal that a significant number of Americans hold these beliefs, and that for better or worse, we undoubtedly live in a paranormal America. Readers will join the authors as they participate in psychic and palm readings, and have their auras photographed, join a Bigfoot hunt, follow a group of celebrity ghost hunters as they investigate claims of a haunted classroom, and visit a support group for alien abductees. The second edition includes new and updated research based on findings from the Baylor Religion survey regarding America's relationship with the paranormal. Drawing on these diverse and compelling sources of data, the book offers an engaging account of the social, personal, and statistical stories of American paranormal beliefs and experiences. It examines topics such as the popularity of paranormal beliefs in the United States, the ways in which these beliefs relate to each other, whether paranormal beliefs will give rise to a new religion, and how believers in the paranormal differ from "average" Americans. Brimming with fascinating anecdotes and provocative new findings, Paranormal America offers an entertaining yet authoritative examination of a growing segment of American religious culture.
ISBN: 9781479819652Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes and Goblins
Drawing from ancient and modern folklore, myth, and religion, this reference work delves into the social and anthropological significance of supernatural beings such as angels, demons, dwarfs, encantados, fairies, keremets, nats and nymphs.
ISBN: 0874368111Publication Date: 1996-12-31
The Werewolf by ISBN: 9781614273578Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Using the Rollins College Archives in Olin
- Rollins Online CollectionsIf you're researching the history of Rollins or Winter Park, the Archives has a wealth of information available.