This page introduces
Tools for research in
Ethnomusicology
The study of social and cultural aspects of music and dance in local and global contexts. Specialists are trained primarily in anthropology and in music, but the multidisciplinary nature of the subject leads to different interpretations.
Folk Music
Music that has been submitted to the process of oral transmission. Acoustic music performed by a solo act or a small ensemble, often written by the performer(s), rendered in very simple arrangements, and dealing with social or personal issues to which most lay persons can easily relate.
World Music
This loosely defined term describes the local, folk, or roots music of a particular cultural group, society, or nation, oftentimes presented in conjunction with elements of religion, politics, and social customs. The term may refer to any music outside the western-art tradition.
The definitions above are derived from Oxford Music Online.
Websites
- Afropop WorldwideRadio program and online magazine dedicated to music from Africa and the African diaspora.
- AllmusicExplore by region and genre.
- British Library SoundsExplore 80,000 selected recordings of music, spoken word and human and natural environments.
- English Folk and Traditional MusicGuide to the most useful Internet resources for those interested in English folk and traditional music.
- Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument CollectionThe University of Washington Ethnomusicology Division houses over 400 musical instruments from around the world. The digitized images in the musical instrument database are intended for educational and instructional use.
- Fondo de Música TradicionalA Spanish Collection of Traditional Music Heritage
- Internet Chinese Music ArchiveIncludes popular and traditional music.
- LANIC: Latin American Network Information CenterLatin music resources from the University of Texas.
- Musical Instrument Museums OnlineWorld's largest freely accessible database for information on musical instruments held in public collections. The database now contains the records of 56,404 instruments.
- National JukeboxStreamed audio for over 10,000 rare historic sound recordings.
- Smithsonian FolkwaysDedicated to supporting cultural diversity and increased understanding among peoples through the documentation, preservation, and dissemination of sound.
- World Music CentralNews, reviews, articles, and resources on traditional and contemporary folk and roots music as well as cross-cultural fusions and hybrids.
- World Music NetworkPortal that features up-to-date news, previews, a guide sections, exclusive charts and an original Battle of the Bands competition.
Reference Works
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Call Number: REF. ML100 .G16 1998ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 1997-08-01
The Rough Guide to World Music by Call Number: ML102 .W67 W67 1999ISBN: 1858286352Publication Date: 2000-02-07
Exploring American Folk Music by Call Number: ML3551 .L67 2012ISBN: 1617032654Publication Date: 2012-09-04
