What are these sources?
This page recommends sources likely to be of particular use for HIS 346: United States Since 1945. This is not a complete list; similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers, or with a search in the online catalog.
These books will be found in several different places. The call numbers organize books by their subject matter, but aren't enough by themselves to tell you in what part of the library you'll find the item.
- If there's no special description on this page, the book will be found in the general collection, located on the 3rd and 4th floors of Olin.
- If the location says Reference, it will be found on the 2nd (main entrance) floor of Olin.
- Online books can be read by following the links on this page.
General Reference on the US since 1945
The following are just a few examples of the reference books available which might be particularly useful for HIS 346. Similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers. They can be found on the second (main entry) floor of the library. Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages; lengthier treatments of particular topics can be found in the library's general collection using the online catalog.
Postwar America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History by Call Number: Reference E169.12 .P654 2007Publication Date: 2007An encyclopedia of historical, cultural, and social details of American life from the end of World War II to the early 21st century.
Cold War Culture by Call Number: Reference E169.12 .S39 1998ISBN: 0816031045Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century by Call Number: Reference E740.7 .E53 1996Five volumes.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America by Call Number: Reference E169.1.G7553 2009Publication Date: 2009This four volume set details the experience of daily life in America, from the details of domestic life to the political and social concerns of a particular time. Volume 4 covers the period from 1940 to the present.
Chronologies
The Timetables of History by Call Number: General D 11.G78 1991A timetable tracing year-by-year developments in many facets of human history.
Chronology of World History by Call Number: D11 .M39 1999ISBN: 1576071553Publication Date: 1999-05-01A detailed timeline of world events listed categorically by year. Volume IV covers the period from 1901 to 1998. This book is also available online.
American Decades by Call Number: Reference E169.12 .A419Each volume covers a specific decade of the 20th Century, documenting fashions, major events, and cultural concerns.
Geographical Reference Sources
National atlas of the United States of America by An online atlas of the physical geography of the country.- The State Atlas of Political and Cultural Diversity by Publication Date: 1997
Historical Gazetteer of the United States by Call Number: Reference E 154.H45 2005A historical gazetteer organizes past events by place name.
Historic Cities of the Americas: An Illustrated EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference HT 121.M37 2005(2 vols.)
The Encyclopedia of New York City by Call Number: Reference F128.3 .E75 1995Publication Date: 1995Over 4300 alphabetically arranged entries on people, places, events, and ideas in the history of New York City.
Florida Reference Sources
- The Encyclopedia of FloridaCall Number: Reference F311 .E53 1997Arranged by topic, this set includes a geographical overview, a chronology, a directory of services, lists of governors and historical places, maps, the state constition, and more. 2nd ed. 2 volumes.
- Florida Biographical Dictionary: People of All Times and Places Who Have Been Important to the History and Life of the StateCall Number: Reference CT229 .F57 1995An alphabetically arranged guide to important Floridians and those who have played an important part in the history of Florida.
Encyclopedia of Southern culture by Call Number: Reference F209 .E53 1989Publication Date: 1989An extensive, topically arranged guide to Southern states including Florida.
