Government Resources

This resource provides users with a vareity of resources on Florida's state courts, including the court structure, court publications, links to specific trial and appellate courts, and more.

A portal for Florida-specific labor market information, integrating state and federal data.

This portal takes users to a number of key government resources, including the Florida Statutes, the Florida Constitution, and the Florida House and Senate pages.

This Florida history portal from the State Library and Archives of Florida contains a wealth of primary sources, including photographs, maps, significant historical documents, and much more. Many of its images are available to users under a public domain license, which users may use for presentations and assignments with proper attribution.

"The Office of Economic and Demographic Research (EDR) is a research arm of the Legislature principally concerned with forecasting economic and social trends that affect policy making, revenues, and appropriations."

This search is the most straightforward way to check the status of Florida House or Senate bills for current or previous sessions: whether they became law, were withdrawn, etc., along with much more functionality. Users can also set up e-mail alerts to track bills of interest as they advance through the Legislature.

This directory will take you to the various agencies, commissions, and other entities that comprise state government in Florida.

An extensive collection of state government publications, Florida history primary sources, and other topics.

An advocacy organization for Florida's 67 county governments. Like the Florida League of Cities, it also produces research, has a directory of county governments, and advocates for its members in Tallahassee.

"The League’s mission is to serve the needs of Florida’s cities and promote local self-government. We support local voices making local choices to protect and enhance Florida’s communities." Includes reports, city government directory, and more.

This page links to a wide range of directories for local government entities, including county jails, supervisors of elections, etc.

You can use Municode to find out about business-related ordinances at the county and city level. For example, if you are operating in Miami, you may be subject to both city ordinances (City of Miami) and county ordinances (Miami-Dade County).

The Guide to Law Online is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law. It includes links to useful and reliable sites for legal information from international, multinational, foreign, federal, state, territorial, and tribal jurisdictions.

The National Conference of State Legislatures, created by state legislators and legislative staff in 1975, serves America’s 50 states and its territories. Every state legislator and staffer is a member of the organization and has complete access to the latest in bipartisan policy research, training resources and technical assistance tailored specifically to their needs. And, NCSL offers members a variety of opportunities to connect and collaborate, notably at its signature event, the NCSL Legislative Summit. Use the links below to get involved or connect with NCSL staff.

This project from the American Library Association strives to collect information about state agencies from all 50 states and the District of Colombia. If you need information on a state other than Florida, go here.

"The State Data Center (SDC) Program is one of the Census Bureau's longest and most successful partnerships. This partnership between the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the island areas and the Census Bureau was created in 1978 to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments."