Online Reference Databases
- Encyclopedia MythicaA free web encyclopedia detailing mythology, folklore, and religion from around the world.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Print & Online Reference Books - Classical World
Battles of the Greek & Roman WorldsCall Number: Reference D 25.A2.M66 2000An guide to the military history of the classical world, with descriptions of more than 600 battles.
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome by Call Number: Reference DE59.C55 1988Provides a history of life in Greece and Rome from the first millennium B.C. to the late fifth century A.D. Topics include land and sea, population, agriculture and food, technology, government, economics, religion, private and social life, women and family life, the arts, and philosophy. 3 volumes.
Classical Studies by Call Number: Z7016 .J4 2006ISBN: 1591581192Publication Date: 2006-05-01A guide to information resources in classical studies, with nearly 700 annotated entries.
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt by Call Number: Reference DT58 .E53 1999Alphabetical entries covering the archaeology of Egypt from the earliest finds of the Paleolithic period through to the fourth century AD.
The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land by Call Number: DS111 .A2 E5813 1993ISBN: 0132762889Publication Date: 1993-04-01Entries describing excavations in Israel, Ancient Palestine, Syria, Jordan and Sinai Peninsula. 4 volumes.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near EastCall Number: Reference DS56 .O9Entries detail archaeological finds originating from prehistoric times through the rise of Islam and the Crusades, covering regions from the eastern Mediterranean to Iran and from Anatolia to the Arab Peninsula, with Egypt, Cyprus, and parts of North and East Africa also included. Five volumes.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical CivilizationCall Number: Reference DE 5.C28 2006An accessible alternative to the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Call Number: Reference DE5 .O9 1996An alphabetical guide to Greek and Roman cultures, with 6,000 entries ranging from long articles to brief definitions.
Women’s Roles in Ancient Civilizations: A Reference Guide by Call Number: Reference HQ 1127.W654 1999A comprehensive reference source on women's roles in ancient civilizations
Print & Online Reference Books - Rome
Dictionary of Roman ReligionCall Number: Reference BL 798.A35 1996Provides more than 1,400 descriptions of deities, myths, persons, places, and practices of the religions of the Roman Republic and Empire. This dictionary includes not only Greco-Roman myth, but also Roman beliefs drawn from Germanic, Iberian, Celtic, Anatolian, Syrian, and Egyptian Greco-Roman, Christian, and Jewish religion.
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome by Call Number: Reference DG 77.A35 1994A reference guide with sections covering the republic and the empire, military affairs, geography, town & country, travel & trade, literature, religion, economy & industry, and everyday life.
Roman Sports & Spectacles: a Sourcebook by Call Number: Reference GV 31.M34 2001Texts in translation regarding Roman sports, with an introductory essay.- World Eras Volume 3: Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E. – 476 C.E. by Call Number: Reference DG 77.W726 2001The World Eras series provides an overview of world history, describing the events, lifestyles, and key figures of each era.
Latin Language
Cassell's New Latin dictionary: Latin-English, English-Latin by Call Number: Reference PA2365.L3 C3 1960Less comprehensive than the Oxford Latin Dictionary, but with English to Latin as well as Latin to English translation.
Oxford Latin DictionaryCall Number: Reference PA2365 .E5 O9 1982Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of classical Latin with entries for approximately 40,000 words, with quotations that illustrate the meaning and use of words from the earliest known instance.
Print & Online Reference Books - Greece
Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece by Call Number: Reference DF77.A35 1997ISBN: 0816031118Provides information about life in Ancient Greece from 3000 B.C. to 30 B.C. Topical chapters include civilizations, city states, and empires; rulers and leaders; military affairs; geography of the Greek world; economy, trade, and transport; towns and countryside; written evidence; religion and mythology; art, science, and philosophy; and everyday life.
World Eras: Classical Greek Civilization 800-323 B.C.E. by Call Number: Reference DF77.W67 2001Comprehensive overview of life in Ancient Greece. Includes chapters about geography, the arts, communication, social class system and the economy, politics, law and the military, recreation, daily life, family life, religion and philosophy, science, technology, and health.
Greek Language
A Greek-English Lexicon ("Liddell & Scott") by Call Number: PA445 .E5 L64 1996The Liddell & Scott Greek-English Lexicon is the most comprehensive and authoritative ancient Greek dictionary available.
Liddell and Scott's Greek-English lexicon, abridged : the little Liddell by Call Number: Reference PA445 .E5 L7 2007This abridged version of Liddell and Scott is for many users more useful than the complete version.
