Articles
Articles are an excellent way to gain insight on a topic or find references to primary sources. Below are some resources to get you started.
Please note that some of these databases have only primary sources (such as the Historical New York Times), while others have a mix of primary and secondary sources (such as JSTOR).
Key Resources
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- New York Times, 1851-2020 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowNew York Times (Historical) covers the full text of the New York Times from 1851 through 2010.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a collection of full-text e-journals published by Elsevier, covering health & life sciences and social & behavioral sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of international serials literature in political science and similar fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. WPSA also indexes books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations.
Other Resources
- The Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive offers full-color and full-text coverage of each weekly issue of the magazine from 1843-four years ago, with a new year of content added each year.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
160,000+ open-access, freely accessible, peer-reviewed articles in science, technology and medicine fields. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a research database that allows users to find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
