Middle East & North African Studies (MENA)

Encompasses the interaction of political, historical, social, economic, and cultural movements as well as relevant persons (living and dead), places, and events. Spans the geographical area from Afghanistan to Morocco. Covers topics in politics, economics, religion, history, literature, the arts, and more.

With worldwide attention focused on the Middle East, National Geographic provides extraordinary coverage of the region, rich with history and culture but ravaged by war and conflict. National Geographic Atlas of the Middle East, Second Edition maps and profiles three new countries: Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Sudan. The spread on religion is extended to include an analysis of Sunni and Shi'ite dynamics while the ethnic coverage is expanded to document the plight and increasing influence of the Kurds. New city maps of Istanbul and Dubai are added, as well as a new Israeli-Palestinian Conflict spread with an in-depth time line of 15 maps. A variety of themes are presented, from religion, population, and ethnic and linguistic groups to oil, fresh water, and development indicators such as trade, foreign aid, infant mortality, urbanization, and education. Pictures, flags, fact boxes, and graphs complement these powerful, newsworthy topics. A time line to 2008 and a place-name index make this new atlas a valuable, topical, and fascinating reference.

Comprehensive A to Z guide. Includes mythological and religious traditions such as Zoroastrianism, Judaism, Christianity, lslam and Baha'i Faith.

An introduction to the history of this turbulent region from the beginnings of Islam to the present day, this widely acclaimed text by Arthur Goldschmidt Jr. is distinguished by its clear style, broad scope, and balanced treatment. This book explores the evolution of Islamic institutions and culture, the influence of the West, the modernization efforts of Middle Eastern governments, the struggle of various peoples for political independence, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the reassertion of Islamic values and power, the issues surrounding the Palestinian Question, and the post-9/11 Middle East. The eleventh edition has been fully revised to reflect the most recent events in, and concerns of, the region, including an expanded and more nuanced discussion of the "War on Terrorism" and the Arab uprisings, coverage of the rise of ISIS, and a new chapter on the growing environmental problems of the region. In addition, the authors have incorporated new scholarship on the early history to provide a fuller picture of the political shifts and socioeconomic concerns of that time. With updated bibliographical sketches, chronology and glossary, A Concise History of the Middle East remains an essential text for students of Middle East history.

One of the most intriguing minority groups in the Middle East is now a thousand years old. It emerged in the city of Cairo, spread to what is today Lebanon, Syria, and Israel, and subsequently became known by outsiders as Druze (in Arabic, Durooz, meaning Druzes). Druzes have played a major role in the history of the Middle East and often been misunderstood by neighbors and outsiders because of their esoteric religious doctrine, the secretive nature that such a doctrine has instilled in them, and the variety of perspectives or divisions prevalent among members of the community.This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Druzes covers their history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Druzes.

Pakistan is unlike most other countries in the emerging world. It is one of the two nations the other being the state of Israel founded on the basis of religion. Although it was created to provide a homeland for the Muslim community of British India, in its original form it was able to accommodate only about half of the people of Islamic faith who lived in the subcontinent. Pakistan s birth in 1947 resulted in one of the largest movements of people in human history when some 14 million people left their homes, with 8 million Muslims leaving India for what is now Pakistan and 6 million Hindus and Sikhs moving in the opposite direction. This was the first large-scale incidence of ethnic cleansing the world was to witness.This fourth edition of Historical Dictionary of Pakistan covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Pakistan."