Image Collections
- Bridgeman Education Images This link opens in a new window
Bridgeman Education is a resource offering over 3,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
- *A Timeline of Art History - Metropolitan Museum of ArtThe Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture
through the Museum’s collection. - Aga Khan Visual ArchiveOver 120,000 slides and digital images of architecture, urbanism, and the built environment in the Islamic world. Spans a 30-year period and documents historic and contemporary sites in the Islamic world, often depicting sites not found in any published resource.
- Art Gallery of New South WalesPerhaps the greatest Australian art museum with really fine collection online in the area of Australian and Asian art.
- ArtServe at the Australian National UniversityArt and architecture image collections, mainly from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan, India, and Cambodia.
- The British MuseumThe British Museum is a public institution dedicated to human history, art and culture. Its permanent collection of some eight million works is among the largest and most comprehensive in existence.
- Freer and Sackler Galleries of Asian ArtOne of the world’s most important collections of Asian art, with more than forty thousand objects—and counting—dating from the Neolithic period to today.
- The LouvreSearch the online image collection of the greatest of French museums, as well as some other French collections as well.
- MatriznetThe on-line collective catalogue of the Museums of the Ministry of Culture (Portugal), coordinated by the Institute of Museums and Conservation (Instituto dos Museus e da Conservação). A resource for images of Portuguese, Flemish, Italian, Spanish, and French works of art.
- Museum of Islamic ArtThe Museum of Islamic Art represents Islamic art from three continents over 1,400 years.
- National Museum of African ArtInitially focused on the traditional arts of sub-Saharan Africa, NMAfA broadened its collecting scope and programs to include both modern and contemporary artworks, distinguishing itself as the first museum in the United States to include a sustained focus on modern and contemporary African art in its mission.
- National Museum of the American IndianIn partnership with Native peoples and their allies, the National Museum of the American Indian fosters a richer shared human experience through a more informed understanding of Native peoples.
- Royal Museum for Central Africa (Tevuren, Belgium)The Africa Museum is a center for knowledge and resources on Africa, in particular Central Africa, in an historical, contemporary, and global context. The museum is a place of memory on the colonial past and strives to be a dynamic platform for exchanges and dialogues between cultures and generations.
- Smithsonian InstitutionsThe Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum, education, and research complex.
- The State Hermittage Museum Digital CollectionThe gallery of high-resolution artwork images from the State Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg, Russia.
ARTstor
- ARTSTOR This link opens in a new windowGreat source of art images. Remember, you can create your own account and save the images that interst you. You can search in two ways: (1) type in an artist or art work etc., or (2) limit the database by date period, location, type of work, etc.
Note: To use ARTstor effectively, either disable your popup blockers completely, or add *.artstor.org and *.artstor.net to a list of exceptions or allowed sites. For more information, visit http://help.artstor.org/wiki/index.php/Disabling_Popup_Blockers.
- ARTstor Tutorials on YouTubeLearn how to register, search for and organize images, and perform other functions within ARTstor.
Rollins Art & Art History Digital Image Collections
The Rollins College Department of Art and Art History Digital Image Collections contain copyrighted, licensed and copyright free materials which are made available to the Rollins College community for noncommercial educational and scholarly purposes, such as classroom projection, class assignments, research, etc. These materials are not for use in commercial purposes, such as electronic or printed publications, including public access websites, alumni and scholarly publications, exhibitions, broadcasts, etc.
Access to the Department's Digital Image Collections is restricted to the Rollins College community via password authorization. To request password authorization and/or assistance navigating CONTENTdm, please email Dawn Feavyour (Visual Resources Curator) at dfeavyour [at] rollins [dot] edu.