Olin Library Chicago Style Citation Guide
Citation requires you to properly acknowledge the sources you use in your research and writing.
If you're using Chicago Style citation, this guide may prove helpful.
It was created by your Librarian and provides detailed information on how to cite a variety of sources in Chicago Style. It also offers many examples for formatting citations as both footnotes and bibliography entries.
Think you might need more help with citation?
Schedule a writing center appointment or a research consultation appointment at https://www.rollins.edu/library/consult/.
Other Citation Guides and Guidelines for Annotated Bibliographies
Here are a few excellent go-to sources for creating citations in MLA and Chicago format, and on preparing annotated bibliographies. Be sure to check with your professor on preferred citation style.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue Online Writing Lab)Here are a few excellent go-to sources for creating citations in MLA and Chicago format, and on preparing annotated bibliographies. You may use either citation style - just be consistent.
- Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition (Purdue Online Writing Lab)The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) (17th ed.) covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to citation standards, grammar, usage, and documentation and has been lovingly called the “editor's bible.”
- Guidelines for Annotated Bibliographies (Purdue Online Writing Lab)An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (50-100 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. See this site for pointers on developing your annotations.
Get More Citation Help Here
To find out more about proper citation see this Citation Styles Research Guide made by your Olin Library Librarians!
There are quite a few different ways to cite resources in your paper. The citation style usually depends on the academic discipline involved.
For example:
- MLA style is typically used by the Humanities
- APA style is often used by Education, Psychology, and Business.
- Chicago/Turabian is generally used by History and some of the Fine Arts
- Chicago Author-Date is used by Archeologists
Check with your professor to make sure you use the required style. Whatever style you use, be consistent!
