Finding Data & Statistics

The Annual Capital Expenditures Survey (ACES) is a Census survey that provides data on capital spending for new and used structures and equipment by U.S. nonfarm businesses with and without employees.

Provides information on current economic conditions in a report published eight times a year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its district through reports from bank and branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts and other sources.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

The CBP is an annual series that includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. The ZBP is released shortly after the CBP and provides the number of establishments by employment-size classes by detailed industry in the U.S. Administered by the Census Bureau.

The Economic Census provides information on industry revenues and other measures of American business performance that are consistent, comparable, and comprehensive across industries and geographic areas. Administered by the Census Bureau.

The Economic Census of Island Areas (IA) provides periodic and comprehensive data for economic activity and structure for American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Administered by the Census Bureau.

Gives an overview of the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices, written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors.

Use EDGAR to gather the SEC filings for any U.S. and international company that trades on the U.S. Stock Exchange.

The Enterprise Statistics Program provides periodic and comprehensive company-wide data, including company support organizations and selected financial activities.

From the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, this database provides both country and industry data.

This is a great collection of links to economic data. Mostly U.S., but some international data. This is a user-friendly site.

The ICT Survey provides data on both noncapitalized and capitalized spending information and communication technology equipment and computer software by U.S. nonfarm businesses with employees.

"The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks."

Nonemployer Statistics is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for businesses that have no paid employees and are subject to federal income tax.

The Longitudinal Employer-Household Program produces new cost effective, public-use information combining federal, state, and Census data on employers and employees. *Use the LED Extraction Tool on the left to quickly search QWI data*

Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry. SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity. The series excludes data on nonemployer businesses, private households, railroads, agricultural production, and most government entities. The SUSB Employment Change or dynamic data include number of establishments and corresponding employment change for births, deaths, expansions, and contractions.

The Survey of Business Owners (SBO) provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.

CBP is responsible for apprehending individuals attempting to enter the United States illegally; stemming the flow of illegal drugs and other contraband; protecting our agricultural and economic interests from harmful pests and diseases; protecting American businesses from theft of their intellectual property; and regulating and facilitating international trade, collecting import duties, and enforcing U.S. trade laws.

BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence decisions of government officials, business people, and individuals. These statistics provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy.

HUD provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by Policy Development & Research-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.

The USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb provides international trade statistics, U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information.

The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.

Foreign Agricultural Service maintains a global agricultural market intelligence and commodity reporting service to provide U.S. farmers and traders with information on world agricultural production and trade for use in adjusting to changes in world demand for U.S. agricultural products.

The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.

The World Agricultural Outlook Board (WAOB) serves as USDA's focal point for economic intelligence and the commodity outlook for U.S. and world agriculture.