It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maya Angelou Resource Library: Literature
The Office of Multicultural Affairs (OMA) at Rollins College provided Olin Library with a wide selection of materials addressing multiculturalism, racism, discrimination, etc. This guide identifies those materials associated with the collection.
The autumn of the patriarch by García Márquez, Gabriel
Call Number: PQ8180.17 .A73 O813 1991
Gabriel Garcia Marquez, renowned as a master of magical realism, creates stories that grip the imagination. Set in exotic locals, peoples with unforgettable characters, and crafted with exquisite prose, his stories transport the reader to a world that is at once fanciful and real. One of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's most intricate and ambitious works, The Autumn of the Patriarch is a brilliant tale of a Caribbean tyrant and the corruption of power. Employing an innovative, dreamlike style, the novel is overflowing with symbolic descriptions as it vividly portrays the dying tyrant caught in the prison of his own dictatorship. From charity to deceit, benevolence to violence, fear of God to extreme cruelty, the dictator embodies at once the best and the worst of human nature.
Translation of El otoño del patriarca
Black feelng, Black talk, Black judgement by Giovanni, Nikki
Call Number: PS3557 .I55 B64
Black Feeling, Black Talk/Black Judgement is one of the single most important volumes of modern African-American poetry.This book, electrifying generations with its revolutionary phrases and inspiring them with such Nikki Giovanni masterpieces as the lyrical "Nikki-Rosa" and the intimate "Knoxville, Tennessee," is the seminal volume of Nikki Giovanni's body of work.
The bluest eye by Morrison, Toni
Call Number: PS3563 .O8749 B55 2000
The Bluest Eye, published in 1970, is the first novel written by Toni Morrison, winner of the 1993 Nobel Prize in Literature. It is the story of eleven-year-old Pecola Breedlove -- a black girl in an America whose love for its blond, blue-eyed children can devastate all others -- who prays for her eyes to turn blue: so that she will be beautiful, so that people will look at her, so that her world will be different. This is the story of the nightmare at the heart of her yearning, and the tragedy of its fulfillment.
Don't stop the carnival by Wouk, Herman
Call Number: PS3545 .O98 D66 1999
DON'T STOP THE CARNIVAL is Herman Wouk's comedy about living out your fantasies on an exotic Caribbean island. Norman Paperman, a successful Broadway publicity agent, has long dreamed of escaping his high-pressure Manhattan life.In a fit of bravado, he chucks it all and buys an old hotel on tiny, primitive, lush Amerigo island.
Fences by Wilson, August
Call Number: PS3573 .I385 F4 1986B - 2 copies available - 1 Reserve; 1 General Collection
Winner of the New York Drama Critic's and Tony Awards as well as the Pulitzer Prize, this sensational drama starred James Earl Jones as Troy Maxson, a former star of the Negro baseball leagues who now works as a garbage man in 1957 Pittsburgh. Excluded as a Negro from the major leagues during his prime, Troy's bitterness takes it's toll on his relationships with both his wife and son who now wants his own chance to play.
Gather together in my name by Angelou, Maya
Call Number: PS3551 .N464 Z464 1974
In this incredible second book in a series of autobiographies, the poet, still in her teens, gives birth to a son, tries to keep a job, falls in love, dances, falls out of love, chases after her kidnapped baby, and goes to work in a house of prostitution thinking she is helping the man she loves.
Gemini: an extended autobiographical statement on my first twenty-five years of being a Black poet by Giovanni, Nikki
Call Number: PS3557 .I55 Z5 1972
The heart of a woman by Angelou, Maya
Call Number: PS3551 .N464 Z465 1981
This engaging book chronicles the changes in Maya Angelou's life as she enters the hub of activity that is New York. There, at the Harlem Writers Guild, she rededicates herself to writing, and finds love at an unexpected moment. Reflecting on her many roles--from northern coordinator of Martin Luther King's history-making quest to mother of a rebellious teenage son--Angelou eloquently speaks to an awareness of the heart within us all.
I shall not be moved by Angelou, Maya
Call Number: PS3551 .N464 I17 1990
In her first book of poetry since "Why Don't You Sing?" Maya Angelou, bestselling author of the classic autobiography "I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings," writes with lyric, passionate intensity that reaches out to touch the heart and mind. This memorable collection of poems exhibits Maya Angelou's unique gift for capturing the triumph and pain of being black and every man and woman's struggle to be free. Filled with bittersweet intimacies and ferocious courage, these poems are gems many-faceted, bright with wisdom, radiant with life.
In love & trouble : stories of Black women by Walker, Alice
Call Number: PS3573 .A425 I5 1973B
Walker's first collection of short stories, In Love and Trouble: Stories of Black Women (1973), established her special concern for the struggles, hardships, loyalties, and triumphs of black women, a powerful force in the rest of her fiction.
Admirers of "The Color Purple" will find in these stories more evidence of Walker's power to depict black women-women who vary greatly in background yet are bound together. "One of the most important, grieving, graceful, and honest writers ever to come into print" (June Jordan).
Jazz by Morrison, Toni
Call Number: PS3563 .O8749 J38 1992
In a dazzling act of jazz-like improvisation, moving seamlessly in and out of past, present, and future, a mysterious voice--whose identity is a matter of each reader's imagination--weaves this brilliant fiction, at the same time showing how its blues are informed by the brutal exigencies of slavery. Richly combining history, legend, reminiscence, this voice captures as never before the ineffable mood, the complex humanity, of black urban life at a moment in our century we assumed we understood. Jazz is an unprecedented and astonishing invention, a landmark on the American literary landscape--a novel unforgettable and for all time.
Jonah's gourd vine by Hurston, Zora Neale
Call Number: PS3515 .U789 J6 1971
Loose woman: poems by Cisneros, Sandra
Call Number: PS3553 .I78 L56 1995
A candid, sexy and wonderfully mood-strewn collection of poetry that celebrates the female aspects of love, from the reflective to the overtly erotic. "Poignant, sexy. . . lyrical, passionate. . . cool and delicate. . . hot as a chili pepper."--Boston Globe.
Love medicine : new and expanded version by Erdrich, Louise
Call Number: PS3555 .R42 L6 1993
The first book in Erdrich's Native American tetralogy that includes The Beet Queen, Tracks, and The Bingo Palace is an authentic and emotionally powerful glimpse into the Native American experience--now resequenced and expanded to include never-before-published chapters.
Meridian by Walker, Alice
Call Number: PS3573 .A425 M4 1986
Moses, man of the mountain by Hurston, Zora Neale
Call Number: PS3515 .U789 M6 1984
In this 1939 novel based on the familiar story of the Exodus, Zora Neale Hurston blends the Moses of the Old Testament with the Moses of black folklore and song to create a compelling allegory of power, redemption, and faith. Narrated in a mixture of biblical rhetoric, black dialect, and colloquial English, Hurston traces Moses' life from the day he Is launched into the Nile river in a reed basket, to his development as a great magician, to his transformation into the heroic rebel leader, the Great Emancipator. From his dramatic confrontations with Pharaoh to his fragile negotiations with the wary Hebrews, this very human story is told with great humor, passion, and psychological insight--the hallmarks of Hurston as a writer and champion of black culture.
Mules and men by Hurston, Zora Neale
Call Number: GR103 .H8 1990
Mules and Men is a treasury of black America's folklore as collected by a famous storyteller and anthropologist who grew up hearing the songs and sermons, sayings and tall tales that have formed an oral history of the South since the time of slavery. Set intimately within the social context of black life, the stories, "big old lies," songs, Vodoo customs, and superstitions recorded in these pages capture the imagination and bring back to life the humor and wisdom that is the unique heritage of African Americans
Playwrights of color by Swanson, Meg
Call Number: PS627 .M5 P57 1999
In their new collection, Swanson (theater, Univ. of Minnesota) and Murray (theater, Univ. of Wisconsin) make a good contribution to the growing field of ethnic drama. They've selected 15 little-known plays to highlight, based on the following criteria: all were written after 1950, all deal directly with the experience of race and/or ethnicity, and all were written in an "accessible" style. An obvious advantage of the current emphasis on multiculturalism is that it brings "new" (read: neglected) authors into the mainstream of literature and literary studies; happily, this work continues that project. This is a textbook, so there is also supplementary material (definitions, bibliographies, and other explanatory material) to help the reader understand the scripts. Recommended for public and academic libraries.
Possessing the secret of joy by Walker, Alice
Call Number: PS3573 .A425 P67 1992
A provocative novel about an African tribal woman s battle with madness after the trauma of a childhood genital mutilation.
Singin' and swingin' and gettin' merry like Christmas by Angelou, Maya
Call Number: PS3551 .N464 Z475 1976
In this third self-contained volume of her autobiography, which began with I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou moves into the adult world, and the white world as well, as she marries, enters show business, and tours Europe and Africa in Porgy and Bess. As the book opens, Maya, in order to support herself and her young son, gets a job in a record shop run by a white woman. Suspicious of almost any kindness shown her, she is particularly confused by the special attentions of a young white customer. Soon the relationship grows into love and then marriage, and Maya believes a permanent relationship is finally possible. As always, Maya Angelou's writing is charged with that remarkable sense of life and love and unique celebration of the human condition that have won her such a loyal following.
The storyteller by Vargas Llosa, Mario
Call Number: PQ8498.32 .A65 H3413 1990
In a small gallery in Florence, a Peruvian writer happens upon an exhibition of photographs from the Amazon jungle. As he stares at a picture of a tribal storyteller who holds a circle of Machiguenga Indians entranced, he is overcome by the eerie sense that he knows this man, that the storyteller is not an Indian at all, but an old school friend.
Sula by Morrison, Toni
Call Number: PS3563 .O8749 S9 1974
Morrison's second novel, Sula is the story of two women whose deep early friendship is severely tested when one of them returns after a 10-year absence as "a classic type of evil force" to disrupt the community.
The temple of my familiar by Walker, Alice
Call Number: PS3573 .A425 T46 1989
Transcending the conventions of time and place, Walker's novel moves from contemporary America, England, and Africa to unfamiliar primal worlds, where women, men, and animals socialize in surprising ways. The author of The Color Purple has created a mesmerizing novel of vision and spirit.
Their eyes were watching God by Hurston, Zora Neale
Call Number: PS3515 .U789 T5 2000
Their Eyes Were Watching God, an American classic, is a luminous and haunting novel about Janie Crawford, a Southern black woman in the 1930s whose journey from a free-spirited girl to a woman of independence and substance has inspired writers and readers for close to seventy years.
The third eye of a butterfly by Rasul, Chuma Whahid
Call Number: PS3568 .A7149 T48 1998
Three short novels by Dostoyevsky, Fyodor
Call Number: PG3326 .A15 G3
The vagina monologues by Ensler, Eve
Call Number: PS3555 .N75 V3 2001
A poignant and hilarious tour of the last frontier, the ultimate forbidden zone, The Vagina Monologues is a celebration of female sexuality in all its complexity and mystery. Hailed as the bible for a new generation of women, it has been performed in cities all across America and at hundreds of college campuses, and has inspired a dynamic grassroots movement V-Day to stop violence against women. Witty and irreverent, compassionate and wise, Eve Ensler's Obie Award-winning masterpiece gives voice to real women's deepest fantasies and fears, guaranteeing that no one who reads it will ever look at a woman's body, or think of sex, in quite the same way again.
When I was Puerto Rican by Santiago, Esmeralda
Call Number: F128.9 .P85 S27 1994
Magic, sexual tension, high comedy, and intense drama move through an enchanted yet harsh autobiography, in the story of a young girl who leaves rural Puerto Rico for New York's tenements and a chance for success.
Wouldn't take nothing for my journey now by Angelou, Maya
Call Number: PS3551 .N464 W68 1993
In this small gem of a book, Angelou, the popular poet and novelist shares her thoughts about humankind: how to respect others of different cultures, opinions, and values as taught by universal philosophies.