What are these sources?
We have many reference resources online and in print. Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages. Looking up a topic in a reference book is an excellent way to familiarize yourself with the key concepts, terminology, and people associated with the topic. This background is important both for understanding a topic and for searching effectively in online databases for articles and books. In addition, many reference works provide carefully selected bibliographies which may lead you to further reading.
Reference Books
- Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of PhilosophyBased on the ten-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Reference B 51 .R68 1998), this online encyclopedia comprises topics in philosophy covering all continents and all time periods.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyA "scholarly dynamic reference work" which provides articles by experts on many topics in philosophy. Includes a search engine and a table of contents for easy access to articles.
- The Oxford Companion to PhilosophyAddresses works of the great philosophers, the British and American thinkers of the English language, major figures in other languages, and contemporary philosophers. The first edition is available in print in the reference collection (Reference B51.O94 1995). The second edition is available online.
Your Librarian
Shokoofeh Sabet
Contact:
Olin 241
ssabet@rollins.edu
ssabet@rollins.edu
(407) 646-2149
Subjects: Philosophy, Religious Studies