‎ English: Websites

The Internet Shakespeare Editions present this extensive site on Shakespeare's life and times. "Topics covered include Shakespeare's life, the stages he wrote for, and the context of the society of his time, the politics and history, the background of ideas and religion, the dramatic tradition he was part of, the literary background, and the music and art he would have encountered. There is an extensive reference section, including maps, a detailed chronology, and thorough bibliographies."

Open Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free Web site containing Shakespeare's complete works. It is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. OSS includes the 1864 Globe Edition of the complete works, which was the definitive single-volume Shakespeare edition for over a half-century.

Contains a vast amount of information on poetry and poets including search tool for poetry, reading guide and online journal, and provides many resources for events related to poetry.

Provides access to online books in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and reference, as well as author information.

Contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, title, or by nationality and literary period.

Though it portrays a rather Western bias, this timeline highlights major literary events from 6000 BC to the 20th Century.

A project of the University of Virginia, this is an interactive on-line tutorial that can train you to scan traditionally metered English poetry.

A reference guide from George Mason University on using scansion to analyze poetic meter.

Curated by the Library of Congress, provides access to audio recordings of authors reading their own works.

Similar to Sparknotes (but snazzier!), Lit Charts provides summaries, offers analysis and themes for each chapter, and a color coding system that relates each theme of each chapter to one another.