What are these sources?
The following databases and websites are useful places to search for statistical information. If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your Fox ID to access the databases, unless otherwise noted.
Databases
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
An international consortium of more than 810 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
- Monthly bulletin of statistics online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.
- Roper Center iPoll This link opens in a new windowFrom the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Datasets available for download.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on thousands of topics from a wide variety of sources.
Websites
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsThe United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics.
- Data.govLarge collections of datasets from various branches of the U.S. government. Click on the "Data" button at the top to find state data and some international datasets.
- The General Social SurveyFor more than four decades, the General Social Survey (GSS) has studied the growing complexity of American society. It is the only full-probability, personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States.
- Global Health Observatory from WHOWHO's portal for providing access to data and analyses for monitoring global health worldwide. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.
- Google Dataset SearchDataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page.
- Google Public Data ExplorerA searchable index with visualizations of public data from a variety of topics.
- Human Development ReportsOverviews of broad topics relating to health, education, gender, poverty, inequality, and other social issues released by the United Nations. Can be searched by nation or topic.
- International Household Survey NetworkCatalog of household surveys in countries around the world. This site does not contain the data in the surveys, but should provide enough information to track the survey back to its source.
- Millennium Development Goals (UN)This site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.
- National Center for Education Statistics"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." Part of the U.S. Department of Education.
- National Opinion Research Center (NORC)NORC experts conduct research in a wide range of subjects, bringing insight to topics including education, economics, global development, health, and public affairs.
- OECD iLibrary StatisticsThese statistics cover: population and migration, economic trends, economic globalization, prices, energy, labor, science and technology, environment, education, public finance, quality of life, and inequality.
- World Bank Health, Nutrition, & Population DashboardsProvides access to health-specific indicators for 200 countries.
LibChat
Olin Librarians are available to help with any questions!