These online databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to communication studies.
You can use the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) link on the left to request books and articles not owned by the Olin Library.
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including Orlando Sentinel. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Features more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. These titles, published for or by African Americans, constitute valuable primary sources. Includes Freedom's Journal the first African American newspaper published in the U.S.
Complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1, by including additional titles, such as Frederick Douglass’s New National Era.
Historical Newspapers from Latin America from the World Newspaper Archive. Explore Latin American History and Culture during the 19th and 20th Centuries.
Historical Newspapers from Latin America from the World Newspaper Archive. Explore Latin American History and Culture during the 19th and 20th Centuries.
Learn how to create/renew an account. Once your account is set up, you can login in to access the full online content in the upper right for a year until it expires. Access is unlimited full-text from 1851-1923 and from 1981-present, with limited access from 1923-1980; the search button is at the upper left of the page.
Learn how to create an account. The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. Daily broadsheet editions are printed for the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia. The newspaper has won 47 Pulitzer Prizes.
You may need to consult various databases depending on the topic and type of information you are seeking.
Here are some common article types used in research:
Primary or Empirical Research Articles: articles reporting original research results. They typically include an abstract, introduction/background, methods, results, conclusion, and a list of references.
Review Articles: synthesize and summarize a particular topic or area of research. They typically do not provide original research results, but provide excellent background information on the state of the research on a particular topic.
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses: Systematic reviews are a very specific type of litearture review that provide comprehensive, high-level anallyses and summaries of all existing literature surrounding a specific resesarch question. These are not always tagged, but usually systematic review and/or meta-analysis appears in the article title.
A meta-analysis (often a component of the systematic review methodology) is a statistical analysis that combines findings from independent studies and clinical trials.
Grey Literature/ Government Publications: Grey literature is information produced by government agencies, think tanks, academics, and businesses, but not controlled by commercial publishers. Material types may include: technical reports, pre-prints, conference proceedings, bibliographies, workshop summaries, government documents, policy briefs, and dissertations. Many of these materials are accessible for free online via the agency website that produces the report. Grey literature is an importatn source to consider for global health research.
News: Written by journalists for public audiences, news articles provide vital background information and current reporting on many global health topics. News is distributed in printed newspapers and magazines, as well as online through news media websites, social media, and radio/TV broadcasts. In global health research, news sources might also serve as primary sources for understanding how health topics are diseeminated to the public via local newspapers or informal publications.
Content is this box was provided by Hannah Rozear, Perkins Library, Duke University
Olin Librarians are available to help with any questions!