SOC 355: Race and Ethnic Relations

The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics.

Large collections of datasets from various branches of the U.S. government. Click on the "Data" button at the top to find state data and some international datasets.

​​​For more than four decades, the General Social Survey (GSS) has studied the growing complexity of American society. It is the only full-probability, personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States.

WHO's portal for providing access to data and analyses for monitoring global health worldwide. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.

Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page.

A searchable index with visualizations of public data from a variety of topics.

Overviews of broad topics relating to health, education, gender, poverty, inequality, and other social issues released by the United Nations. Can be searched by nation or topic.

Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Catalog of household surveys in countries around the world. This site does not contain the data in the surveys, but should provide enough information to track the survey back to its source.

This site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.

"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." Part of the U.S. Department of Education.

NORC experts conduct research in a wide range of subjects, bringing insight to topics including education, economics, global development, health, and public affairs.

These statistics cover: population and migration, economic trends, economic globalization, prices, energy, labor, science and technology, environment, education, public finance, quality of life, and inequality.

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history

Provides access to health-specific indicators for 200 countries.