What are these sources?
These online databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to sociology research.
- Find a JournalIf you already know the title or ISSN of the journal that you want to search, you can use this link to explore the Olin Library's Journal Collection.
- Find a DatabaseUse databases to search for articles, books, statistics, streaming media, and more.
You can use the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) link on the left to request books and articles not owned by the Olin Library.
Article Sources for Race and Ethnic Relations
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of papers and briefs and some access to journal articles, books, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
An international consortium of more than 810 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department's staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
- Roper Center iPoll This link opens in a new windowFrom the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Datasets available for download.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Access contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.
Understanding Article Types
You may need to consult various databases depending on the topic and type of information you are seeking.
Here are some common article types used in research:
Primary or Empirical Research Articles: articles reporting original research results. They typically include an abstract, introduction/background, methods, results, conclusion, and a list of references.
Review Articles: synthesize and summarize a particular topic or area of research. They typically do not provide original research results, but provide excellent background information on the state of the research on a particular topic.
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses: Systematic reviews are a very specific type of litearture review that provide comprehensive, high-level anallyses and summaries of all existing literature surrounding a specific resesarch question. These are not always tagged, but usually systematic review and/or meta-analysis appears in the article title.
A meta-analysis (often a component of the systematic review methodology) is a statistical analysis that combines findings from independent studies and clinical trials.
Grey Literature/ Government Publications: Grey literature is information produced by government agencies, think tanks, academics, and businesses, but not controlled by commercial publishers. Material types may include: technical reports, pre-prints, conference proceedings, bibliographies, workshop summaries, government documents, policy briefs, and dissertations. Many of these materials are accessible for free online via the agency website that produces the report. Grey literature is an importatn source to consider for global health research.
News: Written by journalists for public audiences, news articles provide vital background information and current reporting on many public policy topics. News is distributed in printed newspapers and magazines, as well as online through news media websites, social media, and radio/TV broadcasts. In public policy research, news sources might also serve as primary sources for understanding how topics are diseeminated to the public via local newspapers or informal publications.
Content in this box was provided by Hannah Rozear, Perkins Library, Duke University
LibChat
Olin Librarians are available to help with any questions!
Trial Database
Only available until December 31, 2023.