What are these sources?
This page recommends collections of sources likely to be of particular use for HIS 346: United States Since 1945. There are many such collections available freely on the Web. In general, it's better to look initially for a broad category (e.g. Florida history primary sources) than for a specific name or event. Once you've located a useful collection using Google or another search engine, you can use that site's search tools to locate more specific information.
Web Sources
Newspaper Databases
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is an American newspaper based in New York City with worldwide influence and readership. Founded in 1851, the paper has won 127 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other newspaper.
- Chicago Defender, 1910-2010 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Sources in U.S. History on the Web
- The Library of Congress - American MemoryThis resource from the Library of Congress contains multiple collections featuring millions of historical photos, maps, documents, letters, speeches, recordings, videos, prints, and other materials.
- Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that provides access to twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture.
- Historical Census BrowserFrom the University of Virginia, Geospatial and Statistical Data Center. Using data drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing, this site allows you to search and map characteristics from US Census data from 1790 to 1960.
- Central Florida MemoryDiaries, maps, photos, postcards, and other materials document local history in this joint project of the University of Central Florida Library, the Orange County Regional History Center, and the Orange County Library System.
