Applied Behavior Analysis and Clinical Science (ABACS)

Written by authors with extensive experience as practitioners and educators, this text serves as a straightforward resource for undergraduate and graduate students who have a goal of being counselors or therapists in the field of addiction. While many books on the subject follow a similarformat (introduction, classification of drugs, theories of counseling, etc.), Addictions Counseling takes one client and follows her through the entire treatment experience - from referral and assessment, all the way through relapse prevention and discharge planning. In following her through thetreatment journey, readers are introduced to theories and techniques for approaching each of the topics discussed. This book is a must-read for anybody interested in pursuing a career as an addiction specialist.

The present reprint contains the 11 papers that were accepted and published in the Special Issue “Applied and Computational Mathematics for Digital Environments” of the MDPI Mathematics journal. The topics of interest include, among others, scientific research, applied tasks, and problems in the following areas: The construction of mathematical and ...

To be able to merge the psyche with the neural system has been a long-sought goal. There is much scientific literature on results from research on this topic, but the goal of this "booklet" is to present the subject in a nutshell and to attract a wider audience to this highly complex topic. Scientists often need years to grasp the scope and implications of merging the psyche with the neural system. Does that really have to be the case? What does the simulated model look like? What are the underlying philosophies? Can it be understood without mathematical formalism? Uniting the psyche and neurology in one model, on the one hand, allows psychological and social theories to be tested on a scientific basis using simulation experiments. On the other hand, a model developed according to the functional structures of the human brain, let us call it the Psi-Organ, which comprises neurology and psyche as one unit, can serve as a basis for AI systems. These can be systems with cognitive capabilities that save human lives, save energy, ensure safety at airports, provide support in caring for the elderly and much more. In other words, systems that can simplify our lives in the most relevant ways and on a broad basis. This model, the Psi-Organ, goes far beyond today's primarily behavior-based AI methods. The manuscript can serve as an excellent introduction to the problem of understanding and modelling the human mind, and to the problem of achieving artificial "intelligence" in general, increasing awareness and understanding for the associated challenges. In that regard, it is a valuable supplementary text for advanced students or researchers in the field, notably not only in AI, but also (and perhaps primarily) in the medical fields.

The relationship between human beings and the ecological environment poses a significant global challenge for the present and the future. As human–environment interactions become more complex, it is essential to measure and understand the spatiotemporal dynamics of coupled human–environment systems and how they are influenced by social and ecological factors. This reprint offers twenty original research articles that explore the latest developments in monitoring and projecting the spatiotemporal changes of the coupled system, examining the responses of the coupled system to socio-ecological drivers and processes, and discussing the implications for the sustainable management of the coupled system.

This textbook provides a theoretical and clinical framework for addressing multiculturalism and diversity in the field of applied behavior analysis (ABA). Featuring contributions from national experts, practicing clinicians, researchers, and academics that balance both a scholarly yet practical perspective, this book guides the reader through theoretical foundations to clinical applications to help behavior analysts understand the impact of diversity in the ABA service delivery model. Chapters contain learning objectives, literature reviews, practice considerations, case studies, and discussion questions and are all aligned with the current BACB® Professional and Ethical Compliance Code and BACB® Task List. Accompanying the book are online test materials for students and instructors to assess the knowledge they have learned about various diversity topics. This book is a must have for graduate students in ABA programs, faculty to incorporate diversity topics into graduate preparation, supervisors looking to enhance a supervisee's understanding of working with diverse clients, and practicing behavior analysts in the field wanting to increase their awareness of working with diverse populations.

The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods for Social-Ecological Systems provides a synthetic guide to the range of methods that can be employed in social-ecological systems (SES) research. The book is primarily targeted at graduate students, lecturers and researchers working on SES, and has been written in a style that is accessible to readers entering the field from a variety of different disciplinary backgrounds. Each chapter discusses the types of SES questions to which the particular methods are suited and the potential resources and skills required for their implementation, and provides practical examples of the application of the methods. In addition, the book contains a conceptual and practical introduction to SES research, a discussion of key gaps and frontiers in SES research methods, and a glossary of key terms in SES research. Contributions from 97 different authors, situated at SES research hubs in 16 countries around the world, including South Africa, Sweden, Germany and Australia, bring a wealth of expertise and experience to this book. The first book to provide a guide and introduction specifically focused on methods for studying SES, this book will be of great interest to students and scholars of sustainability science, environmental management, global environmental change studies and environmental governance. The book will also be of interest to upper-level undergraduates and professionals working at the science-policy interface in the environmental arena.

Researchers often have difficulties collecting enough data to test their hypotheses, either because target groups are small or hard to access, or because data collection entails prohibitive costs. Such obstacles may result in data sets that are too small for the complexity of the statistical model needed to answer the research question. This unique book provides guidelines and tools for implementing solutions to issues that arise in small sample research. Each chapter illustrates statistical methods that allow researchers to apply the optimal statistical model for their research question when the sample is too small. This essential book will enable social and behavioral science researchers to test their hypotheses even when the statistical model required for answering their research question is too complex for the sample sizes they can collect. The statistical models in the book range from the estimation of a population mean to models with latent variables and nested observations, and solutions include both classical and Bayesian methods. All proposed solutions are described in steps researchers can implement with their own data and are accompanied with annotated syntax in R. The methods described in this book will be useful for researchers across the social and behavioral sciences, ranging from medical sciences and epidemiology to psychology, marketing, and economics.

Rehabilitation psychologists have long argued that situational constraints (e.g., missing ramps, lack of Braille signage, nondisabled peoples' attitudes) create greater social barriers and behavioral restrictions for people with disabilities (PWDs) than do the disabilities themselves. In otherwords, as social psychologist Kurt Lewin argued, situational factors, including the perceptions and actions of other people, often have greater impact on the experience of disability than do the personal qualities of PWDs themselves. Thus, the experience of disability is shaped by a variety ofpsychosocial forces and factors, some of which enhance while others hinder daily living. For adequate understanding and to plan constructive interventions, psychological science must attend to how the disabled person and the situation interact with one another.Understanding the Experience of Disability: Perspectives from Social and Rehabilitation Psychology is an edited book containing chapters written by social and rehabilitation psychologists who study how social psychological theory can inform our understanding of the experience of disability andrehabilitation. Chapters are arranged topically into four sections: Established areas of inquiry (e.g., stigma, social biases, stereotyping), mainstream topics (e.g., women, culture and race, aging), emerging issues (e.g., implicit attitudes, family and parenting issues, positive psychology), andissues of injustice, advocacy, and social policy (e.g., perceived injustice, disability advocacy, policy implications). Besides informing advanced undergraduate and graduate students and professional (researchers, practitioners) audiences, the book will help families and caregivers of PWDs, policymakers, and PWDs themselves, understand the social psychological processes linked to disability.