First Time Users
FAQ
What are these sources?
This page recommends online databases likely to be of particular use for RCC 100 - Decade of Decision: 1890s. These online databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to historical research.
Rollins Interlibrary Loan
Login with your FoxID and Password
R-Search
Specialized Databases
These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning American history between the wars. For other databases which might also be useful, choose the "Find Articles" tab near the top of this page.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowContains full text of The New York Times from 1851 until 4 years ago.
- JSTOROffers full-text access to articles from leading journals in multiple fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- Orlando Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Newsbank includes the full text of the Orlando Sentinel from 1985 to the present.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and full text for articles from CommSearch and the Mass Media Articles Index.
Primary Sources in U.S. History on the Web
- The Library of Congress - American MemoryThis resource from the Library of Congress contains multiple collections featuring millions of historical photos, maps, documents, letters, speeches, recordings, videos, prints, and other materials.
- Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that provides access to twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture. It includes primary source slavery narratives and other first-person narratives of the South.
- Chronicling AmericaThis collection of newspaper pages from 1836 to 1922 is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian Chat