Primary Sources - General - HIS 120: Decade of Decision: The 1890s - Olin Library Research Guides at Rollins College

What are these sources?

This page recommends online databases likely to be of particular use for HIS 120 - Decade of Decision: 1890s. These online databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to historical research.

Rollins Interlibrary Loan

First Time Users
FAQ

R-Search

Newspaper Databases

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers with 1.8 million pages available provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.

Historical New York Times
Contains full text of The New York Times from 1851 to 2002 - an excellent place to find primary sources for your topic.

Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.

Chronicling America
This collection of newspaper pages from 1836 to 1922 is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Wikipedia: List of Online Newspaper Archives - United States
This Wikipedia entry provides a useful list of online newspaper archives in the U.S.

Primary Sources in U.S. History on the Web

The Library of Congress Digital Collections
This resource from the Library of Congress contains multiple collections featuring millions of historical photos, maps, documents, letters, speeches, recordings, videos, prints, and other materials.
Documenting the American South
A digital publishing initiative from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that provides access to twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture. It includes primary source slavery narratives and other first-person narratives of the South.
Chronicling America
This collection of newspaper pages from 1836 to 1922 is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Florida Memory Project
Searchable collections of manuscripts, war records, historic images, vital statistics, audio and video recordings.
Central Florida Memory
Diaries, maps, photos, postcards, and other materials document local history in this joint project of the University of Central Florida Library, the Orange County Regional History Center, and the Orange County Library System.