Last Updated: May 18, 2015
Rollins doesn't have access to the perfect database to find journal articles in economics. Here are links to databases that include a lot of economics, business and public policy journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on relevant topics amongst a lot of other subjects.
These databses contain a lot of political science or public policy materials.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Contains full-text business journals and news sources.
- Business Source Complete
Provides access to journals and research reports in all disciplines of business.
- Columbia International Affairs Online
Includes the full text of working papers and briefs and some access to journal articles, books, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
Working papers are not the same as scholarly peer-reviewed articles, but can be excellent sources of expert information.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides indexing and full text for articles from CommSearch and the Mass Media Articles Index.
- IDEAS from RePEc
From Research Papers in Economics, this open-access database is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and is available freely on the Internet.
- LexisNexis Academic
Contains databases of full-text publications from a variety of sources. Academic Universe is useful in researching business, politics, and legal information.
Newsstand is a collection of full-text newspapers, including the Orlando Sentinel, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, etc. Coverage is 1977-Present.
- Project Muse
Full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Use the advanced search and limit your search by discipline to "Economics" or "Politics and Public Policy" for better results.
Olin does not have any strictly Economics databases. We have some amazing databases that have a lot of economics articles in them, though.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a full-text, multidisciplinary database of journals, magazines, etc. Coverage is primarily 1975-Present.
- America: History & Life
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and book reviews on U.S. and Canadian history.
- Historical Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and book reviews on the history of the U.S. and Canada and world history from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of full-text scholarly journals, with coverage up to five years ago (a 5-year "rolling wall").
- Proquest Direct
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Google Scholar has all the power (and problems) of Google, but only searches the educational materials in Google. There are diamonds amongst the dirt out there, so it is worth searching. But don't be surprised if the fulltext is not available and you are asked to pay for content. Don't, we can get it for you free via Interlibrary Loan.