Recommended Public Health Resources
- Data at the CDCThis resource allows users to dive directly into healthcare and public health datasets. You can see the CDC's priorities in its choice of categories, such as vaccination rates and environmental health.
- Data at WHOThis hub has a huge amount of global healthcare systems and public health data. Country profiles and the annual World Health Statistics report are useful in a variety of contexts.
- Health Poll Database This link opens in a new window
Covers eighty years of national public opinion polling from health-related U.S. survey questions. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.
- JAMA & Archives (1998-present) This link opens in a new window
The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is an American journal on medicine and on the American Medical Association that delivers clinical information and covers the latest developments and research in medicine and health care.
Issues from 1998 to present are available in full-text. - New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window"PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally." It is a major resource for public and community health journal literature.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowStudents can find a variety of health-related journals in ScienceDirect, including epidemiology and community outreach.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a great source for global health data, public opinion on health topics, and other resources. It will often lead you directly to original data sources, thus saving labor.
Selected Public Health Books
101+ Careers in Public Health by Call Number: Olin Library Books - 4th Floor RA440.9 .S45 2022ISBN: 9780826146922Publication Date: 2021-09-01This thoroughly updated and revised third edition of 101+ Careers in Public Health continues to act as a career guide both for students seeking a first job in the field of public health and for anyone seeking guidance on how to best navigate the next stages of an existing career. Discussing not only emerging career paths but also traditional and familiar job types in public health, this book offers comprehensive advice and practical tips.
Community health workers in action : the efforts of "Promotores de Salud" in bringing health care to marginalized communities by ISBN: 0190691042Publication Date: 2020Community Health Workers in Action proposes support and expansion of the role of community health workers in meeting the health needs of marginalized groups in United States cities (although their potential reach is not limited to any one group or geographical section)... This book offers readers a window into the dynamic field that continues to expand in highly creative and cost-effective ways, which ultimately shape one major piece of the complicated puzzle that is health care in America.
Digital Storytelling in Health and Social Policy by Call Number: Olin Library Books - 4th Floor RA427 .M33 2017ISBN: 9781138024502Publication Date: 2017-05-02As digital life stories continue to assume more and more significance across a range of institutions, so too does their potential to bring into focus once marginalised and neglected voices. Breaking new ground by reframing multimedia life stories as a resource for education, public health, and policy, this book challenges policymakers, professionals, and researchers to reimagine how they find out about and respond to people's daily lives and experiences of health, disability, and well-being.
Public Health Research Methods by ISBN: 9781452241333Publication Date: 2014-03-03Public Health Research Methods is a comprehensive collection of research methods used in the field of public health. This text is about providing researchers, and future researchers, with an up-to-date and comprehensive set of tools to investigate public health issues and problems, to ultimately better inform public health policy and practice.
Sex Work, Health, and Human Rights : Global Inequities, Challenges, and Opportunities for Action by ISBN: 3030641716Publication Date: 2021This open access book provides a comprehensive overview of the health inequities and human rights issues faced by sex workers globally across diverse contexts, and outlines evidence-based strategies and best practices. Sex workers face severe health and social inequities, largely as the result of structural factors including punitive and criminalized legal environments, stigma, and social and economic exclusion and marginalization...The chapters feature a variety of perspectives including academic, community, implementing partners, and government to synthesize research evidence as well as lessons learned from local-level experiences across different regions.
The Topography of Wellness : how health and disease shaped the American landscape by ISBN: 9780813946290Publication Date: 2021-10-05The COVID-19 pandemic has reignited discussions of how architects, landscape designers, and urban planners can shape the environment in response to disease. This challenge is both a timely topic and one with an illuminating history. In The Topography of Wellness, Sara Jensen Carr offers a chronological narrative of how six epidemics transformed the American urban landscape, reflecting changing views of the power of design, pathology of disease, and the epidemiology of the environment.
