News Websites
- NSF.govPhysics news from the National Science Foundation.
- Physics TodayA magazine of the American Institute of Physics (AIP). Access provided by a subscription through Olin Library.
- Physics WorldA magazine of the Institute of Physics (IOP).
- Science Daily"Your source for the latest research news."
- Science NewsMagazine of the Society for Science and the Public. Access provided by a subscription through Olin Library.
Professional Organizations
- AAPT (American Association of Physics Teachers)"Enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching."
- AAS (American Astronomical Society)"Enhancing and sharing humanity's scientific understanding of the universe since 1899."
- American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publications This link opens in a new window"A 501(c)(3) membership corporation of physical science societies with an annual budget exceeding $70M and serving a combined membership of more than 100,000 scientists, engineers and students."
- APS (American Physical Society)"The American Physical Society was founded on May 20, 1899, when 36 physicists gathered at Columbia University for that purpose. They proclaimed the mission of the new Society to be 'to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics,' and in one way or another the APS has been at that task ever since."
- ASA (Acoustical Society of America)"The premier international scientific society in acoustics, dedicated to increasing and diffusing the knowledge of acoustics and its practical applications."
- CFAS (Central Florida Astronomical Society, Inc.)"A totally volunteer organization that is dedicated to bringing astronomy to the general public while providing a friendly family oriented organization to share our love of astronomy."
- EPS (European Physical Society)"The object of the Society is and shall be to contribute to and promote the advancement of physics, in Europe and in neighbouring countries, by all suitable means and in particular by providing a forum for the discussion of subjects of common interest and by providing means whereby action can be taken on those matters which appear desirable to handle on the international level."
- IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)"The world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology."
- IOP (Institute of Physics)"A charitable organisation with a worldwide membership of more than 50,000, working together to advance physics education, research and application."
- OSA (The Optical Society)"The leading professional association in optics and photonics, home to accomplished science, engineering, and business leaders from all over the world. Through world-renowned publications, meetings, and membership programs, OSA provides quality information and inspiring interactions that power achievements in the science of light." Originally known as the Optical Society of America.
- Sigma Pi Sigma: The Physics Honor Society"Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics."
- SPS (Society of Physics Students)"The only requirement for membership is that you be interested in physics."
Electronic Book Collections in Olin Library
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBook Collection is a multidisciplinary collection of full-text e-books. The EBSCO eBooks app is available for iOS devices from iTunes, Android devices from Google Play, and Kindle Fire and Nook devices from this FAQ.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
You need credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
- Physics (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
Research Institutions and Observatories
This is by no means an exhaustive list of all the physics research institutions and observatories in the world, but it is meant to give you an idea of the full breadth of physics and astronomy research being done around the globe.
- Argonne National LaboratoryA research facility of the U.S. Department of Energy. Located outside Chicago. The largest national laboratory by size and scope in the Midwest. Initially formed to research nuclear reactors as part of the Manhattan Project. Today it maintains a broad portfolio in basic science research, energy storage and renewable energy, environmental sustainability, and national security.
- CERN (Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire)In English, European Council for Nuclear Research, sometimes referred to as the European Laboratory for Particle Physics. Located near Geneva on the Franco-Swiss border. One of the most well-known and well-respected research laboratories in the world.
- CFHT (Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope)Joint facility of National Research Council of Canada, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique of France, and the University of Hawaii. Located in Waimea (Kamuela), HI, atop the summit of Mauna Kea. Hosts a world-class, 3.6 meter optical/infrared telescope.
- ESO (European Southern Observatory)Also known as the European Organisation for Astronomical Research in the Southern Hemisphere. Inter-governmental organization with fifteen member states. Many sites, headquarters located in Garching, Germany, near Munich. Builds and operates a suite of the world's most advanced ground-based astronomical telescopes.
- Fermilab (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory)"United States' premier particle physics laboratory." A research facility of the U.S. Department of Energy. Located in Batavia, IL, a suburb of Chicago.
- JILAFounded as the Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics (the acronym stuck). Joint institute of the University of Colorado Boulder and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Located on the University of Colorado Boulder campus. Research encompasses seven broad categories: Astrophysics, Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics, Biophysics, Chemical Physics, Nanoscience, Precision Measurement, and Quantum Information.
- MagLab (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory)Largest and highest-powered magnet laboratory in the world. Located near FSU in Tallahassee. Most powerful magnets produce fields more than a million times stronger than the Earth's magnetic field.
- NORDITA (Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics)Founded as the Nordic Institute for Theoretical Atomic Physics in Copenhagen, Denmark. Now located in Stockholm, Sweden. Carries out research in many sub-disciplines of theoretical physics.
General Research Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.