Your Librarian
Recommended Healthcare Management Resources
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
- BMI This link opens in a new windowUsers can find country-specific reports on healthcare systems, pharmaceuticals, and other health topics. Clicking on this link will take you to your Okta account, where you can access BMI, formerly known as Fitch Solutions.
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- Health Poll Database This link opens in a new window
Covers eighty years of national public opinion polling from health-related U.S. survey questions. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowStudents can find industry reports on a wide range of healthcare-related industries, including hospitals, consulting, and long-term care.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a great source for consumer research, global health data, public opinion on health topics, and other resources. It will often lead you directly to original data sources, thus saving labor.
Selected Books on Healthcare Management
Achieving Health for All by ISBN: 1421438135Publication Date: 2020-09-15Achieving Health for Allreveals how, inspired by Alma-Ata, the governments of seven countries executed comprehensive primary health care systems, deploying new cadres of community-based health workers to bring relevant services to ordinary households. Drawing on a set of narrative case studies from Bangladesh, Indonesia, Ethiopia, Nepal, Ghana, Sri Lanka, and Vietnam,the book explains how a primary health care focus succeeded in improving population health. The book also conclusively demonstrates that comprehensive, multisector, community-controlled, and population-level primary health care is a viable strategy that, against the odds, has led to sustainable, scalable good health at lower cost. Bringing together a group of experts to analyze the forty-year legacy of the Alma-Ata Declaration,
Ageing and health : the politics of better policies by ISBN: 1108968295Publication Date: 2021This book, based on a large European Observatory study, uses new evidence to challenge some of the myths surrounding ageing and its effects on economies and health systems. Cataclysmic views of population ageing are often based on stereotypes and anecdotes unsupported by evidence. How we address ageing societies is a choice.
Basic Concepts of Health Care Human Resource Management by Call Number: Olin Library Books - 4th Floor RA971.35 .N63 2019ISBN: 9781284149463Publication Date: 2019-02-19Basic Concepts of Health Care Human Resource Management, Second Edition provides the essential tools and strategies for Human Resource Management (HRM) personnel to become empowered custodians of change in any healthcare organization.Each part focuses on a key area of HRM including staffing, training and development, employee relations, and long-range planning, with individual chapters providing key resources and support materials and resources.
Basics of the U. S. health care system by ISBN: 9781284170023Publication Date: 2021Basics of the U.S. Health Care System, Fourth Edition provides a broad, fundamental introduction to the workings of the healthcare industry. Engaging and activities-oriented, the text offers an accessible overview of the major concepts of healthcare operations, the role of government, public and private financing, as well as ethical and legal issues.
Innovating Healthcare by ISBN: 0429455968Publication Date: 2019-11-25The Role of Political, Managerial and Clinical Leadership presents the latest state of knowledge based on original data from a series of NIHR-funded research projects set in the context of a review of extensive secondary research. The book draws upon first-person verbatim accounts of change attempts made by doctors and other clinicians as well as upon research findings about the roles played by policy-makers and managers. The analysis draws upon theory and practice in leadership, innovation and institution-building.
Managing Modern Healthcare by ISBN: 1317331249Publication Date: 2017-02-10Until now, research has given us only a limited understanding of how managers actually make sense of and apply management knowledge; how networks of interaction amongst managers help or hinder processes of knowledge diffusion and the sharing of best practice; and how these processes are all influenced both by the organisations in which managers act and by the professional communities of practice they belong to.
