First Time Users
FAQ
What are these sources?
This page recommends online databases and free websites useful for finding articles and data.
Rollins Interlibrary Loan
Login with your FoxID and Password
R-Search
Current Articles on Comics (Comics Research RSS)
Loading ...
Examples
Rollins Subscription Databases
These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning American history between the wars. For other databases which might also be useful, choose the "Find Articles" tab near the top of this page.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- JSTOROffers full-text access to articles from leading journals in multiple fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Comic Book Resources on the Web
- The Comics JournalThe comics journal has a long history as an intellectual magazine about comics. Their archives include many insightful critiques and creator interviews.
- The Grand Comics DatabaseA database of images and publication information for comic book series, built by volunteers. Probably the most comprehensive collection of comic book cover images available.
- The Comic Book DatabaseA database of publication information for comic books including writers, artists, and other creators by individual issue or story. Volunteers register to contribute data.
- The NewsstandThis feature on the site Mike's Amazing World of Comics allows you to view the comics from many publishers from the month they were sold or with a specific cover date. (These are not the same thing; for many years, cover dates were deliberately later than the on sale date so that retailers would keep them on the racks longer.) Includes American comic books from 1934 until a few months ago.
- Comichron: A Resource for Comics ResearchA large collection of comic book and graphic novel sales figures online, from 1960 onwards.
- ComicsResearch.org: Academic ResourcesAn extensive collection to links for comic book scholarship.
- Comic Art in Scholarly Writing: A Citation GuideCiting individual comic books can pose some unusual challenges. This site attempts to establish some standard practices for scholars. It is built primarily around MLA citation style, but its practices can be adapted for the Chicago style preferred by the Rollins history department.
Comic Book Primary Sources Online
- Comic Book PlusAn extensive collection of free downloadable files of comic books now in the public domain. An excellent opportunity to read a wide variety of early comics.
- The Comic Book Script ArchiveA small collection of unillustrated scripts, demonstrating the comic book process as it has been practiced in recent years.
