Olin Library Research Guides: MLS 516: Gandhi's Life, Philosophy and Legacy: Find Articles

What are these sources?

These online databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to philosophy. The specialized databases listed are devoted in whole or in part to the field of philosophy or to fields in which Gandhi is discussed often; the publications they include and in some cases the search options they provide are tailored to the needs of philosophers and historians. The multidisciplinary databases cover philosophy and other fields.

Specialized Databases

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Contains indexes and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A great source for political research and opinion, so this is worth searching if you are interested in elections and/or ethnic conflict in India.
Communications and Mass Media Complete
Like MLA in literary studies, C&MMC indexes scholarship in a field -- media studies -- that has made extensive use of Gandhi's ideas on communication and journalism.
ERIC (Educational Research Information Center
The premier database for education research in the US. Check here for resources on peace education, which is greatly influenced by Gandhi.
MLA Bibliography
MLA (Modern Languages Association) Bibliography is the premier index to scholarship in literary studies. Gandhi's philosophy is cited widely in literary criticism.

Multidisciplinary Databases

R-Search
R-Search searches about 86% of all the fulltext available at the Olin Library and all the books etc. in our catalog. Your search can also be expanded beyond the Olin collection. Use interlibrary loan to request those materials unavailable at Olin. R-Search is a good choice for catching those documents that might fall through the cracks among other databases.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.

Find Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

More...

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a great place to find scholarship openly available on the web about Gandhi. Remember to update the Google Scholar preferences on your computer so that you can see Rollins full text.