It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RCC 100: Writing Social Justice and Community: Find Books
This page recommends books likely to be of particular use for RCC 100: Writing Social Justice and Community. This is not a complete list; similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers, or with a search in the online catalog.
Find Books, Films, & More
Search the Olin Library catalog:
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by Gary L. Anderson (Editor); Kathryn G. Herr (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HM671 .E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism. 3 vols.
Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages. Looking up a topic in a reference book is an excellent way to familiarize yourself with the key concepts, terminology, and people associated with the topic. This background is important both for understanding a topic and for searching effectively in online databases for articles and books. In addition, many reference works provide carefully selected bibliographies which may lead you to further reading.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America by John M. Herrick (Editor); Paul H. Stuart (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HV12 .E497 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
he Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North Amercia is a unique reference book that will provide users with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Since many themes and issues are similar in the three nations, entries will provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential persons, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by Dinah Shelton
Publication Date: 2004-10-29
Genocide has been with us since the beginning of history and is a key element of the study of world history at nearly every level. The most widely-studied and catastrophic examples are, however, historically close to the present day: the Nazi Holocaust, ``ethnic cleansing'' in Bosnia, tribal warfare in Rwanda and more. The Encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending these practices. It also delves into depictions and manifestations of the phenomenon, such as propaganda, sociological and philosophical explanations, literature and film.