Australian Literature
Here is a selection of resources all related to Australian literature. All of these books and databases can be found at the Olin Library. If you have any questions, please see a librarian.
Literary Criticism
The uncertain self: essays in Australian literature and criticism by Call Number: PR9604.6 .H47 1986ISBN: 0195547438A comprehensive collection of essays that provides a critical look at Australian literature past and present.
These books can be found on the fourth floor, and may be checked out.
Aboriginal Writing
Writing never arrives naked: early Aboriginal cultures of writing in Australia by Call Number: PR9608.2 .A96 V36 2006ISBN: 085575544XToorn shares a cluster of stories illustrating how the cultures of reading and writing, introduced to Australia by the British in 1788, became entangled with the oldest living Indigenous culture in the world.
These books can be found on the fourth floor, and may be checked out.
Literature Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography with full text provides access to an index as well as full-text content of books as well as articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Reference Books on Literature
The Oxford companion to Australian literature by Call Number: 3rd Floor - PR9600.2 .W55 1994ISBN: 019553381XThe Oxford Companion to Australian Literature offers a comprehensive account of Australian writing from European settlement in 1788 to the 1990s.- The Oxford literary guide to Australia by Call Number: 3rd Floor - PR9607 .O94 1987ISBN: 0195545923This illustrated book discusses writers past and present in all genres of popular and serious fiction and nonfiction; notable publishers and booksellers; literary gathering places; artists who wrote or whose work influenced writing; and patrons of literature.
Australian literature from its beginnings to 1935 by Call Number: 3rd Floor - PR9604.3 .M5 1975ISBN: 0424067005A descriptive and bibliographical survey of books by Australian authors in poetry, drama, fiction, criticism and anthology with subsidiary entries to 1938. Two volumes.- Black Words, White Page by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 070222149XPublication Date: 1989-01-01Reissue of a title first published in 1989. Its main focus is the period 1963 to 1988 and the achievements of such writers as Mudrooroo Narogin, Also available in hard copy at 3rd Floor PR9608.2 .A96 S48 1989
Reference Books on Authors
- Australian Writers by Call Number: 3rd Floor PR9606.2 .B53 1968Publication Date: 1969
- The Time to write : Australian women writers, 1890-1930 by Call Number: 3rd Floor PR9608 .T56 1993ISBN: 0140139176
Australian Literature Books
Macquarie PEN anthology of Australian literature by Call Number: PR9614.4 .M39 2009ISBN: 9780393072617The Literature of Australia gathers the most distinctive and most significant of the nation's writing. Highlights include coverage of over two hundred years of literature in all genres, from the 1700s to the present.
A companion to Australian literature since 1900 by Call Number: PR9609.6 .C63 2007ISBN: 9781571133496This book offers a fresh look at Australian literature, taking a broad view of what literature is and viewing it with Australian cultural and societal concerns in mind.
The Penguin book of 19th century Australian literature by Call Number: PR9614.8 .P46 1993ISBN: 0140157034Extensive collection of prose and poetry which draws together works reflecting 19th-century Australia: the indigenous landscape, the sense of exile, convict conditions, women's roles, the impact of gold and wealth and existential anxieties.
Australian Authors
- The Time to write : Australian women writers, 1890-1930 by Call Number: PR9608 .T56 1993ISBN: 0140139176Collection of essays by contemporary Australian women writers which reflect on the historical and cultural insights to be gained from the lives and works of earlier Australian women writers.
These books can be found on the fourth floor, and may be checked out.
- Speaking volumes : Australian writers and their work by Call Number: PR9609.6 .W54 1992ISBN: 0140173854Sixteen prominent Australian contemporary writers discuss themes such as national identity, American and English influences, literary criticism and sexuality.
Poetry and Short Stories
These books can be found on the fourth floor, and may be checked out.
The Penguin book of modern Australian poetry by Call Number: PR9615.7.P44 1991ISBN: 0140586490This broad selection of Australian poets begins with Kenneth Slessor, and offers a challenging view of 'early modern' poetry up until the 1960s.
The Penguin best Australian short stories by Call Number: PR9617.32 .P465 1991ISBN: 0140139168Collection of 28 short stories designed to provide a fresh view of the development of the genre in Australia from colonial to modern times.
Your Librarian
Find Books, Films, & More
Search the Olin Library catalog