Government Resources

A free service offered by the Library of Congress, which provides access to the full text of recent bills, bill status, public laws, committee reports, session calendars, and House and Senate schedules

Full-text of each bill version (e.g. introduced, engrossed, enrolled)

"Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation."

The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress

Congressional Reports originate from congressional committees and deal with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. Congressional Reports, along with Congressional Documents, are part of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set , commonly referred to as the Serial Set.

govinfo contains select House, Senate, executive, and conference reports from the 104th Congress (1995-96) forward. Additional documents from previous congresses are also available.

Sometimes called "Congress's Think Tank," the CRS writes detailed reports on foreign and domestic policy.

"GAO’s reports and testimonies give Congress, federal agencies, and the public timely, fact-based, non-partisan information that can improve government operations and save taxpayers billions of dollars."

Lists legislative actions on bills that are reported in the Congressional Record

Full-text versions of all signed bills

The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress

The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.

Offers public access to the political process. The video library provides full-text access to all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses and contains every C-SPAN program aired since 1987.

Non-partisan, non-ideological weekly newspaper.

Provides statistical information on political contributions to Congressional Committees and legislators, as well as political action committee (PAC) profiles.