What are these sources?
This page recommends article databases likely to be of particular use for HIS 346: United States Since 1945.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- JSTOROffers full-text access to articles from leading journals in multiple fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Newspapers and Magazines
- Olin Library Newspaper Search (R-Search)Search across 1 billion newspaper articles from hundreds of newspapers, or view articles from Featured newspapers.
- Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster is an app granting students, faculty, and staff access to digital versions of many magazines. Get the app from Apple App Store or Google Play.
Multimedia
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s vast collection of books, journal articles, and research reports.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos. With over 26,000 titles and counting, Films on Demand includes Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries and A-list performances spanning the arts.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos that can be streamed and viewed instantly. Collections include feature films, educational documentaries, and rare archival footage on a variety of topics.
Videos available in Kanopy that are not part of the library’s collection can be requested, but there are added costs associated for the Library budget for each film. For this reason, requests will be reviewed and some may be denied or delayed.
