Learning Outcomes for RCC Instruction
- Identify and navigate the library website in order to find a variety of trustworthy information sources.
- Recognize how to contact a librarian, tutor, or writing consultant in order to request assistance throughout the research and writing process.
- Select the appropriate library resources, space, or service in order to meet individual learning goals.
- Recognize different search strategies via the library or the open web in order to obtain relevant results.
- Distinguish between types of information sources (scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, books, multimedia, data, websites) in order to determine their respective authority and intent.
Primary Sources
- Everyday Life and Women in America, ca. 1800-1920Provides access to primary source material relevant to women's history.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowFind full-text articles on various subjects.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and full-text articles about communications and mass media.
- ERICThe Education Resources Information Center from the US Department of Education. The best starting point for research on education.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to articles from leading journals in several fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO includes professional journal articles, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally in psychology and related disciplines.
- SocINDEX with Full TextA comprehensive sociology research database, encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study
News
- New York TimesRollins College maintains an online subscription to the New York Times website. Students, faculty, and staff will need to create an account by navigating to accessnyt.com and selecting Rollins College from the Find School search box. Once your account is set up, you can access the full online content from the New York Times website by clicking the link to the left and using your login. Access is unlimited full-text from 1851-1923 and from 1981-present, with limited access from 1923-1980.
- Washington PostUnlimited digital access to washingtonpost.com
Subject Guide
Rene Tanner
she/her/hers