What are these sources?
These databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to your assignment for this class. These can provide a jumping point in researching through Olin's databases.
Subject-Specific Databases
These specialized databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to this subject.
- African American History Database This link opens in a new window
Explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture with more than 500 years of the African American experience.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department's staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
General Databases
These multidisciplinary databases, available both on and off-campus to Rollins students, are particularly recommended for finding articles concentrating in this subject.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Historical Newspapers
- African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. These titles, published for or by African Americans, constitute valuable primary sources. Includes Freedom's Journal the first African American newspaper published in the U.S.
- African American Newspapers, Series 2: 1835-1956 This link opens in a new window
Complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1, by including additional titles, such as Frederick Douglass’s New National Era.
- Chicago Defender: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1909 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
Full-text historical newspaper covering African American life, civil rights, segregation, and legislation. More than two thirds of its readership resided outside of Chicago.
- Orlando Sentinel: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1913 - ) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text coverage of the Orlando Sentinel newspaper dating back to 1913 and continuing through the present.
- New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of the New York Times published from September 18, 1851 (its first issue) to 3 years prior to the current year, including all articles, illustrations, and advertisements.
Finding Journals
Search through Olin Library's complete collection of journals.
- Journal SearchUse this link to search for journals by title or ISSN.
Journals in this Field
You can access full-text articles in these journals:
- BillboardFull-text access to Billboard magazine. Contains chart data in a variety of genres (based on sales, streaming, radio play, etc.).
New York TImes
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create/renew an account to log in. Access the full online content in the upper right for a year, as well as podcast episodes. Access is unlimited full-text from 1851-1923 and from 1981-present, with limited access from 1923-1980; the search button is at the upper left of the page.
Accounts need to be reactivated annually.
Distinguishing Periodicals
Peer-Reviewed: When a scholarly work is reviewed and vetted by a group of experts in said discipline (e.g., academic journals).
Trade/Popular Periodical: Non peer-reviewed publications typically written by journalists that reflect current trends and news (e.g., newspapers, magazines).