‎ Mathematics: Recommended Websites

• MathDL: Mathematical Sciences Digital Library

• MathDL is an online resource published by the Mathematical Association of America. The site provides online resources for both teachers and students of mathematics.

• Mathematical Atlas

  Introduces the subject areas of modern mathematics, to describe a few of the milestone results and topics, and to give pointers to some of the key resources where further information is to be found.

• GeoGebra offers a free online apps bundle wtih graphing, geometry, algebra, 3D, statistics, probability.
• Inkscape is free and open-source vector graphics software which runs on Windows, Mac OS X and GNU/Linux and uses the W3C open standard SVG as its native format. Inkscape can output as TikZ if you want to draw it first and then tinker more in TikZ by playing with the code.
• The Ipe extensible drawing editor for creating figures in PDF format supports making small figures for inclusion into LaTeX-documents as well as making multi-page PDF presentations.
• TikZ: A simple visual editor for creating commutative diagrams. Also see link to github for TikZEdt standalone software for producing figures with a built-in graphical editor and a code box.
• General resources: Including presentation and math-talking pointers.

• OER Commons

  OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Search for existing resources by subject, keyword, or education level. Build and share OER using their Open Author tool.

• Open Textbook Library

  Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

Wolfram|Alpha

Wolfram|Alpha is a computational knowledge engine. It generates output by doing computations from its own internal knowledge base, instead of searching the web and returning links. Use as few words as possible to communicate. Use unambiguous whole words. Just describe what you're interested in. You don't need to explicitly ask a question.
Wolfram|Alpha FAQs

Wolfram MathWorld

Search Site

MathWorld currently features a number of innovative interactive elements that enhance its usability for a variety of different readers. These features include:

• The MathWorld Classroom, which provides a set of pop-up "capsule summaries" for more than 300 mathematical terms.
• Extensive citations to books and journal articles, many of which are active hyperlinks.
• Thousands of downloadable Mathematica notebooks.
• Several types of interactive entries, including LiveGraphics3D applets for interactive three-dimensional geometry.
• A powerful full-text search engine with both basic and advanced searching capabilities.
• Mathematics Subject Classification metadata in the HTML headers of each page.
• Special information for Mathematica users.

• American Institute of Mathematics

  Website has links to infoarmation regarding conferences, grants, math problems and resources.

• EMIS-- European Mathematical Information Service

  Portal to various mathematical databases

• EuDML: European Digital Mathematics Library

  A database created by a consortium of European universities, research institutes, and librariesfrom nine countries with a goal to create a unified and comprehensive access point for the digital mathematical collection of the entire continent.

• Martindale's Calculators on-line Center and Mathematics Center

  Access to on-line Calculators, Applets and Spreadsheets. Also includes Courses, Manuals, Handbooks, Simulations, Animations and Videos/Movies.

• Math Archives

  Portal to various mathematical information

• Mathematics WWW Virtual Library

• MathSciNet Tutorials

  Tutorials to enhance the use of MathSciNet.

• On-line resources in statistics

  Portal to on line resources in statistics by Penn State Center for Astrostatistics

• Open Educational Resources from AIMath

  Some open educational resources for multiple Math classes from the American Institute of Mathematics.

• Polymath

  A wiki for polymath projects - massively collaborative online mathematical projects.

• Polymath- Journal publishing reform

  A collection of links to information, opinion, activism, and other issues concerning the practices of research journal publishers (particularly in the mathematical sciences).

• The Mathematics Genealogy Project

  A project by the Department of Mathematics at North Dakota State University to compile information about all the mathematicians of the world.

• Mathematics Resources at MIT                                                                    

A series of freely available interactive lessons presented in a widely accessible video format.

• American Mathematical Society -AMS

• American Statistical Association

• European Mathematical Society

• Institute of Mathematical Statistics

• International Statistical Institute

• Mathematical Association of America - MAA

• Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics- SIAM

The American Mathematical Society offers ethical guidelines in mathematics.  These guidelines cover:

• Mathematical Research and its Presentation
• Social Responsibility of Mathematicians
• Education and Granting of Degrees
• Publications

Policy Statements and Guidelines: This section includes documents on supportive practices in the mathematics field, open science and security, and tenure.