Asian Study Databases
- Asia Studies Full-Text OnlineA database of scholarly literature, statistics, and analysis of Asia-Pacific covering Asia, Australia, and the Pacific Islands.
- Asia-Studies Humanities This link opens in a new windowThe humanities represents an important part of Asian Studies. Asia-Studies Full-text Online has created a section of the database service devoted to Asian Humanities.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an insight into the changes in China during this period.
- Chinese Pamphlets: Political Communication & Mass Education This link opens in a new windowThis is the “street literature” of the revolution: comic books, leaflets, and other ephemera distributed to the general population of provincial cities and villages.
Popular Culture Studies
- Life Magazine Archive - Full-color, cover-to-cover coverage of the photojournalism magazine from its first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
- Time Magazine Archive - Full-color, cover-to-cover coverage of the magazine from its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive - Comprehensive, timely articles and legendary photos documenting life on our planet any beyond. The National Geographic Archive offers full-color and full-text coverage of each issue of the magazine from 1888-current.
-
New York Times (Historical) - Full-text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 to 2010.
Chat with a Librarian
General Reference Databases
- JSTORJSTOR offers full-text access to back issues (going back to the first issues) of journals in the fields of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
- Academic Search UltimateIndex, abstracts, and full-text access to more than 4,500 journals in all subject areas.
- ProQuest DirectArticles from thousands of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- ARTstorA repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data drawn from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, art reference publishers and other sources.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create/renew an account. Once your account is set up, you can login in to access the full online content in the upper right for a year until it expires. Access is unlimited full-text from 1851-1923 and from 1981-present, with limited access from 1923-1980; the search button is at the upper left of the page.
Quick Tips
The databases on this page provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers in Asian Studies.
Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic, review those items that look relevant, and then exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other articles. Pay attention to the subject headings (descriptors) to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles. You may have to use AND or " " to connect two concepts and narrow your searches, and some of the general databases like ProQuest Direct and Academic Search Ultimate will allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals only.
Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Find Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
More...
Subject Guide
Database Access
Off campus access to article databases is restricted to the registered Rollins users only. For a complete list of databases, please visit the Olin Library's Databases by Name with Descriptions page.