It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HON 201: Immigrant Experiences in the United States: Find Reference Resources
Refence books can be found on the main floor of Olin, to the right when you enter. They cannot be checked out, but that means they are almost always available, and they can be copied.
Reference sources are a good place either to retrieve facts and numerical data, or to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages. Looking up a topic in a reference book is an excellent way to familiarize yourself with the key concepts, terminology, and people associated with the topic. This background is important both for understanding a topic and for searching effectively in online databases for articles and books. In addition, many reference works provide carefully selected bibliographies which may lead you to further reading.
Ancestry Library Edition provides extensive genealogical data from the United States, the United Kingdom, and elsewhere.
Reference Books on Immigration
Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present by Matthew J. Gibney
Call Number: Reference JV6012 .I56 2005
Publication Date: 2005
An interrnational perpsective on immigration, with detailed entries covering laws, politics, history, and people. 3 volumes.
The following are just a few examples of the reference books available which might be particularly useful for your class. Similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers. They can be found on the second (main entry) floor of the library.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by James Ciment
Call Number: Reference JV6465 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Arranged by topic, this set provides a detailed overview of immigration history, issues, demographics, culture, and law, including an entire volume of primary documents. 4 volumes
Immigration and Multiculturalism : Essential Primary Sources
Call Number: Reference JV6465 .I4737 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A large collection of selected texts documenting immigration and multiculturalism in America. It includes a detailed chronology, suggestions for further reading, and a useful index.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Rudolph J. Vecoli
Call Number: Reference E184 .A1 G14 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Substantial entries on over 100 ethnic groups in the United States, including information on their histories, cultures, organizations, prominent individuals, and more.