What are these sources?
These sites are recommended for historical research, and are selected for authority, accuracy, objectivity, coverage, and currency. They do not include the article databases available through Olin Library subscription.
On This Day in History...
Loading ...
Immigration Websites
- Historical Census BrowserFrom the University of Virginia, Geospatial and Statistical Data Center. Using data drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing, this site allows you to search and map characteristics from US Census data from 1790 to 1960.
- US Citizenship and Immigration ServicesUSCIS is the government agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. This site features information on the USCIS, US immigration laws and regulations, and forms for those seeking to immigrate, get a green card, or apply for citizenship. I
- The Statue of Liberty—Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.In addition to historical information about Ellis Island, this site allows users who register for a free account to search a database of immigrant arrival records. Much if not all of this information is also available to Rollins students in the Ancestry Library Edition.
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930A web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. The related links page on this site is a particularly useful set of recommendations for further immigration research sites.
- Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-born Population of the United States: 1850-1990From the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
- U.S. Census Bureau Data Access ToolsA collection of links to sites, software, and datasets useful for analyzing the U.S. population.
Image Resources
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsLarge collection of online documents, maps, photographs, and digital images from the Library of Congress, documenting all eras of American history.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Reading Room: Lists of Images on Popular TopicsThis page features selected sets of images on frequently requested topics, focusing on images for which there are no known restrictions. A particularly promising set for this class is Selected Images of Ellis Island and Immigration, ca. 1880-1920.
- Creative CommonsCreative Commons offers convenient access to search services for finding images licensed for re-use. Be sure to check the license conditions on each individual image you wish to use.
