In 1591 Dutch engraver and goldsmith Theodor de Bry published Grand Voyages, which contained the earliest known European images of Native Americans in what is now Florida.
De Bry’s copperplate engravings were among the first images that Europeans encountered about the peoples, places, and things of the Americas, even if he began making them almost a century after Columbus’s initial voyage.
De Bry's illustrated edition of A Briefe and True Report of the New Found Land of Virginia, containing engravings that were based on the watercolors of John White, was published in 1590.
Cross-reference index of John White watercolors and Theodor De Bry engravings on the early Native Americans.
Europeans learned about the Virginia Indians through both words and pictures. Yet as important as the writings of explorers and colonists were, the most powerful impressions came from prints. The William W. Cole Collection contains many of the engravings of Virginia, produced from 1590 to the 1800s, that influenced European opinions of, and thus policies toward, Virginia Indians.
In 1493, Columbus wrote about his discoveries that was translated and published across Europe. That report opened a period in which the New World became a subject of great interest to Europeans. Especially fascinating were the indigenous peoples. The name "Indians" derived from Columbus's belief that the islands he found were in the Indian Ocean and was used in England as early as 1553.
A full-text, scholarly publication by Kim Sloan in 2009 on the European visions of Native Americans.
Exploring Florida: A Social Studies Resource for Students and Teachers
Produced by the Florida Center for Instructional Technology,
College of Education, University of South Florida © 2002.
WRITTEN BY: The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica
Written by: National Park Service
Taino Timucua Tribal Web Page
With links to the Republic of Timucua, Timucua language map and other resources
This is a free online genealogy resource containing information about Florida tribes.
This state agency provides cultural, historical, and archaeological resources of Florida. Explore the archaeology section to learn more about the Miami Circle and Florida's native peoples. Don't miss the Florida Facts and History page which contains information on Florida's Prehistoric Native People native peoples of the 16th Century, as well as the history, leaders, and wars of the Seminoles.
This online publication includes over 100 heritage tourism destinations throughout the state and provides an account of the 12,000-plus years of Native American presence and significance in Florida, special interest topics, and biographies of individuals important to Florida's Native American heritage written by archaeologists and living descendants of Native Americans.
Use this comprehensive guide to all of the public archaeological sites and museums devoted to preserving Native American heritage in Florida.
This page provides an overview of the Timucua of Florida and their Taino relations.
The National Museum of the American Indian is dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans.
Take a look at the official website of the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida.
Learn about Florida's largest tribe with the official website of the Seminole Tribe of Florida.