Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Innovation

This guide is a starting point for your research in social innovation.

Selection of Reference books

Encyclopedia of Global Studies

The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.

Encyclopedia of Social Problems

From terrorism to social inequality and from health care to environmental issues, social problems affect us all. The Encyclopedia will offer an interdisciplinary perspective into these and many other social problems that are a continuing concern in our lives, whether we confront them on a personal, local, regional, national, or global level. The goal of the Encyclopedia of Social Problems is to provide a premier reference tool for students, scholars, and professionals with a wide range of specialties. Covering all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and their interconnectedness, the Encyclopedia will also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them. The Encyclopedia will be organized in A-to-Z format with cross-referencing of entries around a series of broad themes. Contributors will come from many disciplines, including economics, geography, political science, psychology, sociology, and women#65533;s studies.

Social Issues in America

Truly comprehensive in scope - and arranged in A-Z format for quick access - this eight-volume set is a one-source reference for anyone researching the historical and contemporary details of more than 170 major issues confronting American society. Entries cover the full range of hotly contested social issues - including economic, scientific, environmental, criminal, legal, security, health, and media topics. Each entry discusses the historical origins of the problem or debate; past means used to deal with the issue; the current controversy surrounding the issue from all perspectives; and the near-term and future implications for society. In addition, each entry includes a chronology, a bibliography, and a directory of Internet resources for further research as well as primary documents and statistical tables highlighting the debates.

Contemporary Youth Activism: Advancing Social Justice in the United States

A cutting-edge study showcases the emergence of contemporary youth activism in the United States, its benefits to young people, its role in strengthening society, and its powerful social justice implications. * Presents a framework for understanding the role of youth activism in contemporary U.S. society * Surveys the various issues, strategies, and organizational features in the field of youth activism * Offers detailed portraits of youth responding to the pressing issues of our time, including police brutality in low-income communities of color, sexual assault on college campuses, environmental degradation caused by fracking, and the surge in unaccompanied minors coming to the United States * Features a range of youth and adult voices, from senior scholars and rising stars in academe to youth activists and their adult allies * Identifies lessons about how contemporary youth activism can help build a more just, inclusive, and responsive democracy * Highlights the policy wins of youth activists and illuminates the ways in which they are shifting the political terrain while building power in their communities