Last Updated: Feb 3, 2014
The databases on this page provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers in disciplines that are included in Environmental Studies.
Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic, review those items that look relevant, and then exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other articles. Pay attention to the subject headings (descriptors) to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles. You may have to use AND or " " to connect two concepts and narrow your searches, and some of the general databases like ProQuest Direct and Academic Search Premier will allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals only.
Off campus access to article databases is restricted to the registered Rollins users only. For a complete list of databases, please visit the Olin Library's Databases by Name with Descriptions page.
The Department of Environmental Studies encompasses many disciplines. These databases are excellent for finding articles for all facets of Environmental Studies.
- Academic Search Premier
Index, abstracts, and full-text access to more than 4,500 journals in all subject areas.
- ProQuest Direct
Articles from thousands of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- (Academic) LexisNexis
LexisNexis index a lot of newspapers as well as news magazines.
JSTOR offers full-text access to back issues (going back to the first issues) of journals in the fields of Biological Sciences, Botany & Plant Sciences, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Zoology, Developmental & Cell Biology, Aquatic Sciences, and History of Science & Technology. Articles from the last 3 to 5 years ARE NOT INCLUDED
Databases focusing on scientific literature.
- Science Direct College Edition
Includes full-text peer-reviewed science journals, including journals in social sciences, psychology, and business.
- JSTOR Plant Science
Search by plant name or geography. and much more.
An abstract database of scientific research literature and web sources.