Most of the Library's electronic resources are available to registered students, faculty, and staff when away from campus through EZproxy, including while abroad.
Anthropology Resources
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowAnthroSource is a comprehensive resource of over 100 years of anthropological research including online, full-text access to 15 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
- Review in AnthropologyThe only anthropological journal devoted to lengthy, in-depth review commentary on recently published books.
- Annual Review of AnthropologyComprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology.
Open Access journals in Anthropology
A list of some open access journals of interest to anthropologists, available to all on the open Web. From the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
- Anthropological Index Online
From the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) with Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum
Public Health Journals
- The LancetThe Lancet is a long running, extensive, and highly-rated grouping of medical journals with an emphasis on public health and human conditions (e.g.: Infectious Diseases, Global health, Child and Adolescent Health, etc.).
Find Articles
Search the Olin Library Journal catalog:
General Reference Databases
- JSTORJSTOR offers full-text access to back issues (going back to the first issues) of journals in the fields of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
- Academic Search UltimateIndex, abstracts, and full-text access to more than 4,500 journals in all subject areas.
- ProQuest DirectArticles from thousands of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- ScienceDirectA collection of full-text e-journals published by Elsevier, covering health & life sciences and social & behavioral sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA database for the natural and social sciences indexing thousands of journals going back to 1950.
- ARTstorA repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data drawn from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, art reference publishers and other sources.
- Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-color, cover-to-cover coverage of the photojournalism magazine from its first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, timely articles and legendary photos documenting life on our planet any beyond. The National Geographic Archive offers full-color and full-text coverage of each issue of the magazine from 1888-current.
Quick Tips
The databases on this page provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers in anthropology.
Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic, review those items that look relevant, and then exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other articles. Pay attention to the subject headings (descriptors) to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles. You may have to use AND or " " to connect two concepts and narrow your searches, and some of the general databases like ProQuest Direct and Academic Search Premier will allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals only.
* How to search AnthroSource online tutorial.
* How to search Web of Science online tutorial.
Subject Guide
Database Access
Off campus access to article databases is restricted to the registered Rollins users only. For a complete list of databases, please visit the Olin Library's Find a database by name page.
Find Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
More...