Last Updated: Nov 22, 2013
The databases on this page provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers in the biological sciences.
Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic, review those items that look relevant, and then look at the details of those entries to help lead you to other articles. Pay attention to "subject keywords' or 'descriptors' to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles. You may have to use AND or " " to connect two concepts and narrow your searches, and some of the general databases like ProQuest Direct and Academic Search Premier will allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals only.
Databases with a research science focus.
- American Chemical Society Web Editions
Full text journal publications of the American Chemical Society
- Web of Science
Web of Science is our newest science database. It is extremely powerful, offering citation searching both forward and back from your selected article. It does not include much full text, but does off the "Find It" button. PLEASE contact me if you want help exploring the power of Web of Science
- Science Direct
Includes full text peer reviewed science journals
Database of abstracts for scientific research literature. Full-text of many articles availableto Rollins users.
Contact your professor or the science librarian to set up a password and learn to use Scifinder.
from the National Center for Biotechnology
From the US National Library of Medicine, National Institute of Health
- IOPscience Journals
Access to the 74 journals of the Institute of Physics in a broad range of topics
- Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews discuss the current developments in many biomedical/life sciences and physical sciences. Olin has access to at least the most recent issues of reviews of topics like: genetics, microbiology, biophysics, analytical chemistry, neuroscience, immunology, fluid mechanics, and astrophysics.
Very good general databases that include a lot of scientific literature for all levels of researchers.
- Academic Search Premier
Index, abstracts, and full-text access to more than 4,500 journals in all subject areas.
- ProQuest Direct
Articles from thousands of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.