First Time Users
FAQ
What are these sources?
This page recommends sources likely to be of particular use in HIS 362 American Foreign Policy: US-Latin American Relations.
Print Reference Books
The following are just a few examples of the reference books available which might be particularly useful for HIS 362. Similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers. Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages; lengthier treatments of particular topics can be found in the library's general collection using the online catalog.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations by Call Number: E183.7 .E53 19974 volumes
The Legacy Of The Monroe Doctrine : A Reference Guide To U.S. Involvement In Latin America And The Caribbean by Call Number: F1418 .D458 1999 1999
Global Perspectives On The United States : A Nation By Nation Survey by Call Number: E895 .G56 20073 volumes
The Spanish-American War by Call Number: E715 .H48 2003
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics by Call Number: F1410 .E56 2002
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: F1406 .E53 1996 V. 1 19965 volumes.
Recommended Databases - General
These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning Latin American history. For other databases which might also be useful, choose the "Find Articles" tab near the top of this page.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to articles from leading journals in several fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Recommended Databases - Specialized
These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning Latin American history. For other databases which might also be useful, choose the "Find Articles" tab near the top of this page.
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of papers and briefs and some access to journal articles, books, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- LatAm Studies Full text Online This link opens in a new windowA database service dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of research on Latin America and the Caribbean. Most content and much of the interface are in Spanish.
Primary Sources on the Web
- Sources And General Resources On Latin AmericaA collection of links to primary sources online compiled by Stephen Volk, a Professor of History at Oberlin College
- Primary Documents in American History: Monroe DoctrineDocuments relating to the Monroe Doctrine made available via The Library of Congress's American Memory project.
- Historical Documents: Foreign Relations of the United StatesThe official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Rollins Interlibrary Loan
Login with your FoxID and Password