Contact Info
Assignment
Group Project and Presentation
Small groups (3-4 students) will be assigned a topic to research and then create a 30-minute class presentation. Review the rubric on blackboard. The topics will be centered on:
- Cuba Today: Class Structure & Inequality
- Cuba Today: Race and Ethnicity
- Cuba Today: Religion
- Cuba Today: Education
- Cuba Today: Gender and Sexuality
Components of the Project
- Group Project Rank Order
- Meet with the Library Liaison
- Group Project Plan
- Presentation Deck and Notes
Books about Cuba
Cuba by Call Number: F1758 .C94865 2013ISBN: 9781610690119Written by some of the best-known independent scholars, citizen journalists, cyber-activists, and bloggers living in Cuba today, this book presents a critical, complete, and unbiased overview of contemporary Cuba. * Pays special attention to the opportunities, limitations, and challenges presented by the leadership of Raul Castro and his reforms * Provides an accurate, insider's perspective into contemporary Cuba supplied by Cubans who currently live and work on the island, in stark contrast with most accounts that are filtered through the lens of an outside observer * Supplies readers with a critical, comprehensive review of Cuban history, economics, politics, culture, and society that places current developments in historical context * Includes a glossary, an appendix of up-to-date statistical information, dozens of sidebars on a variety of important and unusual topics, and an annotated bibliography.
Cuban Cinema after the Cold War by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 0786499109Publication Date: 2015-04-17
From the House to the Streets by Call Number: HQ1236.5 .C9 S76 1991ISBN: 0822311496Publication Date: 1991
Search the Olin Library
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos that can be streamed and viewed instantly. Collections include feature films, educational documentaries, and rare archival footage on a variety of topics.
Videos available in Kanopy that are not part of the library’s collection can be requested, but there are added costs associated for the Library budget for each film. For this reason, requests will be reviewed and some may be denied or delayed.