First Time Users
FAQ
What are these sources?
Primary sources are original materials from the time period involved, unfiltered by interpretation or evaluation. The sites and resources listed on this page gather together collections of these sources.
Many other primary sources can be located on the Web. It's best to look for large collections of the period, place, and/or broad topic, combining those terms with words such as "database", "archive", "searchable", "digital", or "online". Further tips for using primary sources one the Web can be found here.
Primary Sources on the Web
- Perseus Digital LibraryA large collection of classical texts in the original language and in translation. Contains large collections of museum images and digitized reference works. Primarily focuses on the ancient Mediterranean, but some other areas and time periods included as well.
- Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeThe goal of TLG is to be a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
- The Latin LibraryA collection of on-line Latin texts; many were originally scanned and formatted from texts in the Public Domain, while others have been downloaded from various sites on the Internet. Consequently, these texts contain a number of scanner errors and other problems, but the collection remains useful even if not 100% reliable.
Primary Sources in Print
The Loeb Classical LibraryAround 240 volumes of this series are available in Olin. Each features Greek or Latin texts with English translations on facing pages.
Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian Chat
You must have JavaScript enabled to use this chat service.
Rollins Interlibrary Loan
Login with your FoxID and Password