Ecology and EvolutionFlorida ResourcesMarine ResourcesPlants and AnimalsU.S. Government Online ResourcesPathology
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Biological Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biological Sciences  

Includes Marine Biology and Molecular Biology
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rollins.edu/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are these sources?

The databases on this page provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers in the biological sciences.

Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic, review those items that look relevant, and then exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other articles. Pay attention to the subject headings (descriptors) to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles. You may have to use AND or " " to connect two concepts and narrow your searches, and some of the general databases like ProQuest Direct and Academic Search Premier will allow you to limit your results to scholarly journals only.

 

Database Access

Off campus access to article databases is restricted to the registered Rollins users only.  For a complete list of databases, please visit the Olin Library's Databases by Name with Descriptions page.

 

Inter-Library Loan

FoxID Logon

First Time Users
FAQ

Biology Databases

Databases focusing on scientific literature.

  • Web of Science
    Web of Science is our newest science database. It is extremely powerful, offering citation searching both forward and back from your selected article. It does not include much full text, but does off the "Find It" button. PLEASE contact me if you want help exploring the power of Web of Science
  • Science Direct College Edition
    Includes full-text peer-reviewed science journals, including journals in social sciences, psychology, and business.
  • Scopus
    An abstract database of scientific research literature and web sources.
  • PubMed
    PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
  • IOPscience Journals
    Access to the 74 journals of the Institute of Physics in a broad range of topics
  • American Chemical Society Web Editions
    Full text journal publications of the American Chemical Society
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews discuss the current developments in many biomedical/life sciences and physical sciences. Olin has access to at least the most recent issues of reviews of topics like: genetics, microbiology, biophysics, analytical chemistry, neuroscience, immunology, fluid mechanics, and astrophysics.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Very good general databases that include a lot of scientific literature for all levels of researchers.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Index, abstracts, and full-text access to more than 4,500 journals in all subject areas.
  • ProQuest Direct
    Articles from thousands of scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR offers full-text access to back issues (going back to the first issues) of journals in the fields of Biological Sciences, Botany & Plant Sciences, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Zoology, Developmental & Cell Biology, Aquatic Sciences, and History of Science & Technology. Articles from the last 3 to 5 years ARE NOT INCLUDED
 

Find a Journal

Find a journal by title or ISSN:

More....

UlrichsWeb - Provides publication and subscription information, reviews, and other information about scholarly journals and other periodicals.

 

 

Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Wenxian Zhang
Contact Info
Wenxian Zhang, Professor and Head of Archives & Special Collections
Rollins College Box 2768
Winter Park, FL 32789-4499
Voice: 407-646-2231
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip